Frequently Asked Questions:

  1. I bought a full version of PC Tune-Up and was delivered a trial. How do I get a fully functional version of PC Tune-Up?
  2. How do I restore a backup?
  3. How do I access the Start Up Wizard?
  4. Should I choose to “Protect All” or “Unprotect All” when protecting my machine?
  5. How do I stop PC Tune-Up from automatically running when I start my computer?

1. I bought a full version of PC Tune-Up and was delivered a trial. How do I get a fully functional version of PC Tune-Up?

To unlock the trial version to the fully functional version, you will need to enter the registration key that you were supplied at the time of purchase.

Open PC Tune-Up and click on the button that says “Register” which is located on the left hand side. Enter your registration key and click the “OK” button to activate your full version of PC Tune-Up.

>> back to top

2. How do I restore a backup?

You may wish to restore a backup to revert back to previous settings. From the Quick Start screen, click the “Backup” button.

Click the “Undo” link on the left, which is located under the Backup button.

A list of your backups will appear. Select the backup that you wish to revert to and click the “Undo Changes” button.

>> back to top

3. How do I access the Start Up Wizard?

If you have a full version of PC Tune-Up, you can control the programs that automatically launch in the background when you start your computer. These programs can slow down the start-up process significantly when you boot your PC. Please note that trial users do not have access to this function.

The Start Up Wizard can be accessed from any screen in PC Tune-Up by clicking the “Optimize” button on the left side of the application.

Then click on the “Startup” link below the “Optimize” button.

This will list everything that automatically loads when you start your computer. To learn more about an application, click on it and the information will appear in the box below.

You can temporarily stop applications from automatically loading at start up by de-selecting the box to the left of the application. Click the “Save” button once you have de-selected all the programs you wish to stop from loading at start up.

You can also delete an item from your start up menu permanently by selecting the item and then clicking the “Delete” button.

>> back to top

4. Should I choose to “Protect All” or “Unprotect All” when protecting my machine?

To protect your machine from allowing potentially malicious ActiveX programs to load automatically to your computer, click on the “Protect” button from any screen in PC Tune-Up. This will list all known ActiveX applications with a red X next to each one.

To protect against these potentially malicious programs, click the “Protect All” button. Green check marks will appear to the left of each of the entries to show that you are protected. Please note that if you have a trial version of PC Tune-Up, you will be protected against only 50% of the programs.

>> back to top

5. How do I stop PC Tune-Up from automatically running when I start my computer?

For your convenience, PC Tune-Up is setup to automatically run when you start your computer. If you would prefer to change these settings, click on the “Advanced Options” button at the top right of the screen.

At the bottom of the Advanced Options screen is a box that says “Run Magic Button on Startup”. Simply uncheck this box if you don’t want PC Tune-Up to run automatically. Alternatively, you can configure these settings to run Daily, Weekly, or Monthly. Click the “Save” button after making your preferred changes.

>> back to top