ie8 loses ZA toolbar settings after clicking "clear virtual data"
XP SP3 IE8 Zonealarm Extreme Security 10.0.250
Is it an expected behavior that I lose my ZA toolbar settings after clicking "clear virtual data"?
It is a PITA to reset my preferred ZA toolbar settings after every time I "clear virtual data"
Is this the expected behavior?
Re: ie8 loses ZA toolbar settings after clicking "clear virtual data"
Yes, this is due to the fact that you customise your settings with the virtualization turned ON. Virtualization per design isolates the browser and its add-on from the rest of the system any changes made will be reverted when you clear out the virtualization cache.
Shutdown your browser, turn OFF ZA virtualization, open again your browser, apply your custom settings to the toolbar, turn back ON virtualization.
The above applies not only to the ZA toolbar but to any add-on part of the browser. Also remember to turn OFF virtualization everytime you update your browser or any add-on otherwise they may end up to be installed in the virtualized area and get corrupted.