Thread: Importing configuration xml file for imaged machines

collierm Guest

Default Importing configuration xml file for imaged machines

We use an imaging solution that utilises a batch file to run scripts to install applications on new PC builds. I am trying to find out if it is possible to import the xml file automatically upon installation of ZASS 6. Does it simply need to be copied to a specific directory or is information extracted from it.I am a newbie with this software, so appreciate all the help I can get.Thanks in advanceMatt

Operating System:Windows XP Pro
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite
    Software Version:6.0

Default Re: Importing configuration xml file for imaged machines

<BLOCKQUOTE><HR>collierm wrote: We use an imaging solution that utilises a batch file to run scripts to install applications on new PC builds. I am trying to find out if it is possible to import the xml file automatically upon installation of ZASS 6. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Hi Matt, I see it has been a while since you have posted and no one has replied, so hopefully you will see this. Generally it is not recommended to import an XML backup file from one machine to another, because of all the potential software differences that can occur. (Both installed OS and application differences) With that said, I myself have often wondered about your scenario where systems are being created from an imaged install. <BLOCKQUOTE><HR>Does it simply need to be copied to a specific directory or is information extracted from it I am a newbie with this software, so appreciate all the help I can get.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>To answer you question, yesthe settings/info is read from the XML file and input into the ZA databases. You would need to open ZA and Import the backup file from where you have it, either copied to the HD or possibly from a CD.Hope this helps. Take care.

collierm Guest