Thread: E-mail & computer FREEZING: Long-time ZoneAlarmPro user just installed ZA SecuritySuite

jmc1028 Guest

Default E-mail & computer FREEZING: Long-time ZoneAlarmPro user just installed ZA SecuritySuite

Hi, Folks,First, I've been using computers since 1973. So, I have a little bit of knowledge on operating and maintaining my own computers. I've been using ZoneAlarmPro (and formerly ZoneAlarm) for more than five years on several computers with no problems. I was quite happy with these products.About 18 hours ago, I upgraded to ZoneAlarm SecuritySuite, v. 6.5 on my new computer.So far, I'm gravely disappointed. I've had to reboot my computer more times in the past 18 hours than I had to reboot my old one (Windows 98SE) in the past six years.My new computer (w/dual core processors)is running under Windows XP Pro. There is nothing on it to conflict with ZA Security Suite. (My ISP doesa virus-checkof e-mail before it reaches me, which has been good.. so far.)I use MS Outlook from MS 2003 Office Professional.In the past 18 hours...When I try to read e-mail, MS Outlook crashes, specifically with a "dump."When I try to send e-mail, MS Outlook crashes, specifically with a "dump."When I try to review an e-mail message with a date-stamp, MS Outlook crashes, specifically with a "dump."
    That is, MS Outlookhas been renderedbasically useless."End program" works about 25% of the time. The other 75% of the time, I have to manually shut down the computer.Did I miss setting something correctly? (I spent quite a bit of time making sure that the settings were reasonable, but I could have easily have missed something.)
    Or, is there an error in ZA SecuritySuite v. 6.5 about which I'm unaware?
    Or both?
    Please kindly advise ASAP, because this is driving me crazy.Many thanks!!!Julie

Operating System:Windows XP Pro
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite
    Software Version:6.5

jmc1028 Guest