Thread: Black 1/4" rectangle on boot up

masterofpuppets Guest

Default Black 1/4" rectangle on boot up

This is my first time here so please bear with me. Every time I boot up I get a 1/4-inch black rectangle about 2-inches long. My Zone Alarm email checker has been turned off even though ZoneAlarm insists that it is on. I do a quick scan everday and an intense scan 2 days a week and Zone Alarm finds nothing. I update the defs everday also.
    I just bought Essential NetTools from ZoneAlarm and it tells me that someone is accessing my machine but the IP address flashes so quickly that I can't see it. When I scan ports with Essential NetTools, all ports say NA.
    Lots of programs crash and everytime I
    run Outlook, I get a message that it was not closed properly last time so will open in safe mode. I always close it properly.
    Does anyone know what this is.

Operating System:Windows XP Pro
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite
    Software Version:7.0

masterofpuppets Guest

Default Re: Black 1/4" rectangle on boot up

Thank you but don't know how I got Task Mgr. When I check NetAudit with Essential NetTools, Shares under Open Port name is 'Kerberos' and the Server Name: ?????? and System: Unknown. I get a warning sound for passwords and 600+ passwords come up. I went into ZoneAlarm Program Control and killed processes that I have uninstalled but guess none of those are the Culprit. I haven't had time to learn the specifics of Essential NetTools but the Help file says there are options through right clicking and I mostly got save.

Does anyone know what Kerberos is?

naivemelody Guest

You've got something really strange going on, in your pc, I don't know what it is or where to start - but maybe trying to uninstall "essential netools" and see, if that's the real problem. Also, for 'essential netools' check out
    their website /support/FAQs - they have a few known issues you should take a look at first.