Thread: Another Rootkit.win32agent.go issue

dmre Guest

Default Another Rootkit.win32agent.go issue

This is my first forum anywhere! I'm slow at typing and just learning about the PC world and fast (jumped into Vista) I discovered - crashes, freezes and unrecorded phenomenon. I have been getting better at the uninstall/install process (lost count in the last couple months). Although I do see a lot of good points with Vista! Early this week I noticed my machine running rough and hard. My ZA 7.1.078 was acting strange. OH NO Rootkit PANIC "Who was it?". Every startup, Rootkit.Win32.Agent.go was Quarantined but never gone. Since I'm not good at hunting down viruses manually, out came the weapon, Vista Home Premium DVD special. By carefully reinstalling my programs everything worked great until it was my trusted PC Tools Spyware Doctor with A.V.'s turn (It's my back-up, I do realize not to run two A.V.'s at the same time). Problem - It was back, \Sys32\drivers\mchlnjDrv.sys. I shut down the Doctor and ZA Continued with out any notifications. A) Problem with my updated Spyware Doctor. DLL? B) a Kaspersky conspiracy. C) Something is up with ZA. D) I don't know? I will say this in my case the ZA's Overview>Status A.V/Anti-spy dialog shows no records of treated viruses. I know this was long but it's my first. Someone will have the answers. THANKS "E"

Operating System:Windows Vista Home Premium
    Software Version:7.1 (Vista)
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite

Default Re: Another Rootkit.win32agent.go issue

Shutdown Spydoctor and run only ZA. I want to see if it's SD finding the rootkit or ZA.

Message Edited by Jeruselem on 07-12-2007 10:39 PM

dmre Guest

1) I ran ZA Virus/Spy-Scan (Virus only) with SD off. Results--clean!.
    2) Reinstalled PC Tools Registry Mechanic to clean out the carcasses after the clean install from the day b4 concerning the recurring infestation. Started up once again ZASS, all good.