Thread: Internal IP not hidden.

ginzenoid Guest

Default Internal IP not hidden.

So I did an audit at auditmypc.com and it came back showing that my internal IP is visible (through their Java technique) and my external IP is also normally visible. I cannot find a patch for this anywhereI have looked, or if I even need a patch is a question I am wondering.Please be aware I am just a novice

Operating System:Windows XP Home Edition
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm (Free)
    Software Version:6.5

ad_hock Guest

Default Re: Internal IP not hidden.

Hi ginzenoid
    You don't need to be worried.Auditmypc as others sites use javascript to get your internal or private LAN ip.But this doesn't represent a problem of security as this ip's are not reachable from the internet side. From that side is the external ip assigned by your ISP that is visible and this last one can only be hidden using a proxy. But again even knowing
    this external ip it's not a security breach if your ports remain sthealth to unsolicitated requests.In the limit an open port is only a security risk if you have inside your computer a malware that takes profit of that and uses that open port to contact the outside or to receive from the outside.About your internal ip (you run ZA free so you cannot take profit of the privacy settins),if you disable java and javascript in your browser you'll see that they are no longer able to retreive the internal ip.I suggest you confirm this and concentrate in real security issues having the adequated security programs and practicing safe computing.
    Best regards

ginzenoid Guest

Well thank you so much, I do plan on getting ZA Pro and not being a free leach.I know I can't expect alot since its not costing, at least not yet.Thanks

ad_hock Guest

You're welcome