Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No Custom tab >make time server's IP range as Trusted

  1. #1
    radco Guest

    Default No Custom tab >make time server's IP range as Trusted

    Firewall blocked access to the time update (first time this has happened, no changes on my part).
    "Help" tells me to go to Go to Firewall > Main > Internet Zone > Custom, and add UDP psrt 123.
    Problem is, there's no CUSTOM tab to click on.Any ideas?
    <baffeled>

    Operating System:Windows XP Home Edition
    Software Version:7.0
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm (Free)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: No Custom tab

    Hi!
    You mean the windows time update?
    Just changed it to: time-a.nist.gov

    MS servers seems to have problems sometime especially the clock syncro.

    Cheers,
    Fax
    P.S. You don't see the tab since it is only in the paid version of ZA

    Message Edited by fax on 03-12-2008 05:36 PM

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    radco Guest

    Default Re: No Custom tab

    >P.S. You don't see the tab since it is only in the paid version of ZA
    Ah. That figures.Wonder how it was updating for the last 6 months?(Just started getting error messages today).
    Maybe I'll look at a different firewall, need to get past this problem and ZoneLabs' want too much $$ for their paid version.I'm using registered versions of Kerpaskey on the other machines, probably will go with that.
    Thanks,Dennis

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    9,056

    Default Re: No Custom tab

    See if entering the time server's IP range as Trusted in the Zones and make sure the the svchost.exe (generic host process) has trusted server allowed solves the problem.

    The time-a.nist.gov has an IP range of 129.6.0.0 thru 129.6.127.255

    Oldsod.
    Best regards.
    oldsod

  5. #5
    radco Guest

    Default Re: No Custom tab

    YESSSS!~That did it, thanks.
    Tried it with other time servers and had to enter their address as well. All work now.
    Sincere thanks,Dennis

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    9,056

    Default Re: No Custom tab

    You are welcome Dennis.
    Oldsod.
    Best regards.
    oldsod

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Losing trusted IP range
    By finewine in forum Common Program Settings
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 4th, 2009, 06:10 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 19th, 2007, 05:07 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 19th, 2007, 08:08 AM
  4. Strange Alert affecting server's operation
    By sram in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 18th, 2007, 06:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •