Thread: Slow Scanning?

zimmelman Guest

Default Slow Scanning?

I'm a software developer, and during the course of the day I compile applications several times for testing.
    I've been noticing that the compile times have been getting slower and slower.
    It thought it might be the compiler settings, but it turns out that it's ZA AV.
    I turned off the AV and my compile times decreased by about 25%.
    While that may not seem too significant, it does equate to a lot of lost time throughout the day.
    Anyone have any suggestions (other than turning off AV while I'm working)?
    I was looking for a way to enter file mask exceptions so the AV wouldn't scan either the source or compiled units, but there doesn't seem to be anything available for that.

I'm using ZA version 7.0.408.000.
    Not other security software is running.

Lenovo T61, 2 gigs ram, 2.2 dual core CPU, 100 gig HD, XP Pro.
    TIA,-Steve-

Operating System:Windows XP Pro
    Software Version:7.0
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Antivirus

hammernu Guest

Default Re: Slow Scanning?

I found that changing Program Control > SmartDefense Advisor from Auto to Manual speeded up everything significantly for me.

zimmelman Guest

Thanks.
    I tried your suggestion,
    but
    it didn't make any
    difference.
    Unfortunately, turning off the AV seems to be the only solution.
    -Steve-

prof_fate Guest

<blockquote><hr>Zimmelman wrote:
    I'm a software developer, and during the course of the day I compile applications several times for testing.
    I've been noticing that the compile times have been getting slower and slower.
    It thought it might be the compiler settings, but it turns out that it's ZA AV.
    I turned off the AV and my compile times decreased by about 25%.
    While that may not seem too significant, it does equate to a lot of lost time throughout the day.
    Anyone have any suggestions (other than turning off AV while I'm working)?