Thread: ScanningProcess.exe memory usage help

Hybrid View

smacksim Guest

Default ScanningProcess.exe memory usage help

I'm a professional who buys and installs Zone Alarm Security Suite for home and small business clients. I've always had a love/hate feeling about the software, but it IS a nice all-in-one solution for most of my clients, much of the time. One thing that's been irritating me recently and causing me to rethink my recommendation of the software is the inability to configure RAM and CPU usage within the preferences, coupled with ScanningProcess.exe's love of hogging these critical resources.

Its difficult enough for most non-techies to learn a new program, but when it slows their machines to a crawl, it becomes a major problem for them. I don't mind the extra billable hours, but I feel like a fool when client after client becomes disappointed with the Zone Alarm solution.

Complaints aside, I have some questions r/e ScanningProcess.exe:

1. It seems to me that this process runs at high CPU and RAM load most frequently in the first days of use, but quiets down over time, especially when auto-scanning is turned off.

2. Why though are the scanning processes running so high when there are no scans being performed?

3. Is there a way to configure the Suite such that ScanningProcess.exe will have a limit placed on its CPU and RAM bandwidth? If there is, it would save my bacon as a tech consultant. Less hours spent disabling ZA and returning it to the store, for one.

I want to repost this other guys post in another thread, to which the moderator suggested a new thread:

"HI, I found this in a search to find out what was taking up all my CPU usage. I have a Dell Inspiron 1150, Intel
    Celeron CPU 2.40GHz
    2.40 HGz, 768 MB of RAM
    Microsoft Windows XP 2002 SP 2