Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ZA Causes my PC to run incredibly slowly

calviamonk Guest

Default ZA Causes my PC to run incredibly slowly

I've been running ZA with no problems on my XP Pro PC for at least a couple of years. A couple of days ago it suddenly started making my PC incredibly slow when starting up new programs. If I disable ZA it is fine. I've tried modifying the program control settings, but made no difference.

It looks very similar to this issue reported against the Beta http://forums.zonealarm.org/zonelabs...essage.id=1167

I'm running ZA Security suite 8.0.059.000

Operating System:Windows XP Pro
    Software Version:8.0
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite

calviamonk Guest

Default Re: ZA Causes my PC to run incredibly slowly

One other detail, this only applies the first time I start an application. If I shut it down and then start it again, then it is as speedy as ever. Also I have no other anti virus or security software running. The last updates to my PC were windows security updates KB961260 KB959654 KB960715 which were applied pretty close to when the problems started.

caulbox Guest

I can relate to this (very annoying) problem.....
    I'm still a dial-up user, and I'm in the habit of working on my pc whilst awaiting downloads to complete. I've also been using ZA for many years, and have never encountered any slow downs until version 8.0.059.000. But ever since I installed the upgrade (about three months ago), it's become very frustrating to say the least, if I
    attempt any other tasks whilst awaiting a download to complete.
    For example, it can take three or four minutes just to open a readme in notepad! Any subsequent opening of the readme is instantaneous. This sluggish behaviour is generalized, whenever I attempt to open any program - for the first time only, exactly as you describe.
    What I can add is that, for me anyway, the slow starting