Thread: BEWARE: ZoneAlarm 6.0 Free consumes GB of virtual addressing...

redstreak Guest

Default BEWARE: ZoneAlarm 6.0 Free consumes GB of virtual addressing...

As a Zone Alarm user since the late 90s, I've become a little lax about jumping on updates of the software because it always requires a restart of all the systems it is on (I have many). So, I put off upgrading from 5.5 to the September 6.0 release until Friday. On the one system I upgraded at that time, I had nothing but sluggish system until I went back to 5.5 this morninng.

As soon as my system rebooted after the upgrade to 6.0, the performance of the system slowly degraded. I'm a device driver engineer on Windows, and so am quite familiar with the page file and virtual addressing. I popped up Sysinternals Process Explorer, and did a quick check of processes, and didn't see anything **bleep**ing up much CPU. So, I added working set size, virtual size and private bytes to the display, and then went through the list again. VSMON.EXE was **bleep**ing up 1.7 GIGABYTES of virtual memory. The next nearest virtual size was 180 MEGABYTES. Red flag.

I thought maybe it was a wierd fluke, so I went in, made sure all the rules were set up correctly, and then rebooted.

Within 10 minutes after my system came back up, I was crawling again. My development tools were sluggish, and sometimes unresponsive for several seconds at a time. So, I looked in Process Explorer again, and again, VSMON.EXE was **bleep**ing up 1.5 GIGABYTES of virtual memory. So, I shut down Zone Alarm, and waited until VSMON went out of the process list, and then the system was back to normal.

I'm behind a NAT router, so at that point, there was not as much risk to shutting down the firewall. I don't recommend doing that on an open direct connection at all. It would take only .33 seconds to get blasted with a new bug with no firewall doing port blocking for you.