Thread: I'm not a techie geek - I don't understand ZA Pro alert messages

framplot Guest

Default I'm not a techie geek - I don't understand ZA Pro alert messages

I'm very new to ZA Pro and the alerts baffle me. I have just received the following alert: "Registry Editor Utility is trying to create a new process." Clicking on Details and Technical Info leaves me none the wiser. The alerts says: What should I do? If Registry Editor Utility needs to create a new process in order to function correctly and you know what this program is, then give it permission. If it does not need to create a process, or you know that a process should not be created, then deny it. If you are unsure, you can always deny it from creating a process and run the program again, if it is required.
    Why? Registry Editor Utility is potentially malicious. This is particularly true if the new process will load malicious programs or utilize an excessive amount of CPU time, memory, and other resources.
    How do I know if "it needs to create a new process" ?? How do I find out "what the program is" ?? How do I tell if "a process should NOT be created" ??
    In the end, because it says "Registry Editor Utility is potentially malicious" I clicked on "DENY" but I have no idea if I did the right thing. Maybe the request to create a process was quite normal ?? Is there a "novice" setting for ZA that hides all these alerts or decides for itself what is safe etc, or is there somewhere on the web I can download a full list of all the alerts and how to interpret them ?? I thought I knew a bit about computers but I'm beginning to think this programme is too advanced for me. I can understand why newcomers to computer don't bother with firewalls !!

Operating System:Windows XP Pro
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Pro
    Software Version:6.0

socalreviews Guest

Default Re: I'm not a techie geek - I don't understand ZA Pro alert messages