Thread: JAVA(TM)2 Suspicious Behaviour!

Hybrid View

malware_victim Guest

Default JAVA(TM)2 Suspicious Behaviour!

Hi,this is my First post here!...& i'm supoosedly already in trouble!
    I am a complete NOOB at computer & particularly computer security!
    I recently (2 weeks back) installed Zone Alarm Pro(6.5.737.000)due 2 good security reviews on the NET!

.......everything is Working(apparently all right) but i m currently getting a SUSPICIOUS BEHAVIOUR Alert from ZA pro,from JAVA(TM)2 Suspicious Behaviour, of which i 'm posting a screenshot!

>

Though i'm NOT allowing it/ always denying it,but it is bothering me VERY FREQUENTLY!!!

So,Now,all i m asking,what is this program that is asking for the permission i.e what it this JAVA2 trying 2 do & why is it asking for permission???
    &More Importantly,what should i do >>> "ALLOW" or "DENY" permission???

Im currently using Mcafee Antivirus along with Spyware Doctor as other security programs(along with ZA pro as mentioned b4))
    also 2 mention using Win Xp (sp2) & firefox 1.5.0.7

So,plz anybody can help me!
    I would b much greatful!!!

Thanks!

joao_pt Guest

Default Re: JAVA(TM)2 Suspicious Behaviour!

I have that program in my ZA program list. I granted "Access" to the both "Trusted" and "internet" zone because it's just the Java Update Checker... It may be a legitimate procedure, Java is just trying to launch the program that checks for updates... And you have anti-spyware/virus programs, so you shouldn't be infected...

But if I was you, I would go to the control pannel, and clicked the Java icon. On the updates tab I would untick the box (so that it doesn't look for updates) and this should kill the alerts (since it will no longer look for updates). If not, MAYBE it's a spyware acting in the background.

Just an advice from another user of ZA

malware_victim Guest

Thanks Joao_PT,but is the JAVA update absolute necessary??

Btw, any more other ideas anyone ???

joao_pt Guest