Thread: Trusted vs. Internet Zones - Understanding configuration issues

chipzoller Guest

Default Trusted vs. Internet Zones - Understanding configuration issues

After using the firewall for serveral builds (which, in my opinion is GREAT), and after after reading through the manual, I still am unsure about an issue:

How can one have multiple zones assigned if only 1 (not counting the loopback IP) IP is present? For instance, I'm running a wireless router going out to a cable connection, and so my gateway is my router. The NAT IP assigned to my machine and the network associated with it is listed as a trusted zone, I suppose as it should. Is this normally used as an internet zone? Is my configuration normal in this case? I just want to be a "master" in configuring this firewall, and as I'm no novice to firewall configuration, I want to be able to configure this in the most efficient mannner.

Thanks for any suggestions, comments.

Operating System:Windows XP Pro
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite
    Software Version:6.0

ad_hock Guest

Default Re: Trusted vs. Internet Zones - Understanding configuration issues

Hi chipzoller
    If you have a NAT router (it doesn't matter if it is wired or wireless) what happens is the following. You router receives a external ip assigned by your ISP through the modem. This is the ip that is used and it matters for the wide internet (WAN). Then with the NAT feature your router get's an internal or private ip within one of this ranges:
    10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255.255
    172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255
    192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255