Thread: Firefox 2.0.0.9 blocked

wck Guest

Default Firefox 2.0.0.9 blocked

I can't get on the internet using Firefox 2.0.0.9.
    After I open it, all I get is a gray screen that says "Server not found". I had the same problem with 2.0.0.8., so I've done System Restore
    to get
    back to 2.0.0.7.
    I've deleted firefox from
    the ZA Program List,
    but I can't get it to add the 2.0.0.9 exe. And ZA doesn't ask me what to do when
    I
    open the new
    version for the first time without firefox on the
    Program List.
    One idea I had was to
    uninstall ZA and then reinstall it, but I don't know how easy or difficult this is. I prefer using Firefox over IE, so I'd appreciate any ideas
    for solving this.
    Thanks,Warren

Operating System:Windows XP Home Edition
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm (Free)

malkajef Guest

Default Re: Firefox 2.0.0.9 blocked

I am no expert but I had the identical problem with 2.0.0.9. With 2 networked XP PCs at home, both with ZA free and Firefox, one had no problem with the FF update and the other one reacted exactly as you describe. After trying many things, visiting many forums (I was sure it was something wrong with the FF update), the cause was found to be corrupted ZA files. It was resolved by deleting certain ZA files and letting ZA reconstitute them.

See http://forum.zonelabs.org/zonelabs/b...ssage.id=31983

One caution: this resets ZA back to new and therefore you will need to restore all the permissions for the programs you wish to permit access - and, in my case - the settings for ZA to permit the wireless network to work again (the trusted ip numbers for your networked PCs, router, DNS and DHCP servers). None of this takes too long to do once you know what needs to be done - which as usual is the biggest struggle!

See http://forum.zonelabs.org/zonelabs/b...ssage.id=32087

Good luck!

Message Edited by malkajef on 11-15-2007 07:24 AM

You could try this first, before trying this.
    Cheers, Oldsod