Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

  1. #1
    ande652 Guest

    Default Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

    I recently installed SP1 for Vista and my Microsoft VPN stopped working.

    The only solution I have found is to uninstall Zone Alarm.

    Disabling won't do the trick.
    You have to completely uninstall it.
    I have submitted a technical request to Zone Alarm but no one seems to care. (Case #637411)

    No response what so ever.

    I use this for business so I can't very well run without a firewall.

    I would be willing to wait for a fix for a little while but the fact that they don't even respond makes me wonder if they are even working on it.
    Wonder if they will give a **bleep** when I ask for a refund today?

    Operating System:Windows Vista Ultimate
    Software Version:7.1 (Vista)
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,284

    Default Re: Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

    Hi!
    please search this board, the answer has already been given here:
    http://forum.zonelabs.org/zonelabs/b...d=51983#M51983

    For your request not answered by technical support please use a free e-mail service like yahoo, hotmail, gmail to ensure the response in not junked by your mail provider.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    ande652 Guest

    Default Re: Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

    I have searched and read that thread but it doesn't tell me anything.


    That thread blames it back on Microsoft but
    that doesn't explain the lack of response from Zone Alarm to my request.
    But I don't buy that answer.
    I unstalled Zone Alarm and connected to my VPN.
    While I was connected, I installed Zone Alarm and as it was copying files, the VPN was disconnected.
    Before the Zone Alarm program
    even started.
    Again, I don't have a problem if Zone Alarm would respond and tell me what's going on but they don't.

    My biggest gripe is that the website says "Compatible with Vista SP1"

    That needs to be removed from the description.
    FROM THE WEBSITE:
    "Vista SP1 Compatible

    All the products above support the Vista Service Pack 1 (SP1). For compatibility, make sure you have version 7.1.248 or later of ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite,"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,284

    Default Re: Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

    Hi!
    I understand your frustration but please note that this board is not monitored by ZA staff, we are all users helping each other.

    You need to contact ZA directly. If you have problems receiving responses please use another e-mail service as suggested before.
    For issues related to refund contact ZA customer support at: www.zonealarm.com/csform or use the LIVE CHAT (see my signature).

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    ande652 Guest

    Default Re: Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

    I'm not trying to bash anyone on here.
    Please don't take it that way.
    I'll try the link you suggested and let you know the results.
    I'm pretty sure that my mail isn't block ZA's response.
    I'll ask customer service to update me on the status of my request.

    This should be entertaining to say the least.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,284

    Default Re: Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

    Good!
    Let us know what they will tell you... not sure what more they will say as compared to Forum Moderator.
    Basically it is a known bug to be resolved...

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    ande652 Guest

    Default Re: Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

    Well, you had me hoping for a brief moment but I got about what I expected.

    A generic answer.
    They told me to reset my settings.

    I guess they didn't read that I had TOTALLY uninstalled it several times.
    But here is there answer for what it's worth:
    This Information Applies to

    ZoneAlarm Products version 7.0.462.000 and higher

    Summary

    I am having problems with ZoneAlarm, these problems could include:

    - Programs keep asking for access after I grant access, and check the
    remember settings.
    - A program that was working, suddenly stopped working (was not updated).
    - No matter what I do I cannot get an application to work.
    - There is a red X over the ZoneAlarm system tray icon.
    - The TrueVector service will not start.
    - I just upgraded something and the program is not working correctly.

    Solution

    There may be a problem with your TrueVector service. ZoneAlarm is
    dependent on its TrueVector service to function properly. You may need to
    refresh the files associated with this service, especially after a networking
    change, OS change, or ZoneAlarm update.

    To repair this problem, please follow the steps below. Please note that this
    will remove your program permission settings (so you may want to make
    note of them), but re-establishing them is a simple process.


    1.) Hold down the Ctrl and Shift keys together
    2.) Right click on the ZA icon near your clock
    3.) Choose 'Reset' from the box that comes up
    4.) Choose Yes on the Reset Settings dialog box
    5.) When prompted, choose OK to restart your system
    6.) Follow the on screen configuration prompts after reboot


    NOTE - Links to sites other than ZoneAlarm.com are provided for the
    convenience of our users. ZoneAlarm does not provide, and is not
    responsible for, the content users may find on such sites

    ================================================== ==
    To Contact Technical Support again regarding this issue, simply reply to this
    e-mail and type your text above the line at the top of this e-mail.
    Be sure to leave the subject line unchanged.

    AND IN CASE ANYONE IS WONDERING.... I FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS AND IT DIDN'T SOLVE THE PROBLEM!!!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,284

    Default Re: Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

    Hi!
    this is the standard procedure... you need to go back and report that the solution did not work.
    They will come back to you with other steps... you will need to go back to them again.... etc..

    This is the way troubleshooting works.

    But I wonder why are you doing all of this if you know already the answer.
    Anyway, good luck!

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    ande652 Guest

    Default Re: Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

    All I am trying to do is get an answer from Zone Alarm about this problem.

    All they seem to want to do is BS me with tasks until I go away.

    I have another comical response from them
    but I'll spare everyone.
    I service electronic hardware and software.
    I know the routine very well.
    I also know the technique of tasking someone with tests and procedures to buy time.
    All I want to hear is that they acknowledge the problem and are doing something about it.

    Sure I hear it in these forums but as you pointed out, we are all just users.
    You
    guys may not believe it but I am a big fan of Zone Alarm.

    But, that might change soon.
    Stuff like this from Norton was what got me to using Zone Alarm.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,284

    Default Re: Vista SP1 breaks ability to use Microsoft VPN with Zone Alarm

    Ok... Happy chatting with support then... Cheers,Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •