Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Zone Alarm Free failed to install and now I can t connect .

  1. #1
    fllabbergasted Guest

    Default Zone Alarm Free failed to install and now I can t connect .






    Hi I m more or less a newbie with computers .

    Recently I was emptying out old installations from a secondary drive which was originally in an old computer. I uninstalled Zone Alarm from this folder thinking it would just get rid of the old installation. It ended up removing my current installation. (Yes I know this should have been obvious)

    I then reinstalled ZA Free. I restarted the computer when prompted and when the computer rebooted the installation did not complete as expected but also left my wireless with no connectivity. I can connect to my wireless network with good strength but can t access the www.

    I ve tried all the basics that I can think of. Any help would be appreciated?

    Operating System:Windows Vista Home Basic
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm (Free)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Free failed to install and now I can t connect .


    <BLOCKQUOTE><HR>Fllabbergasted wrote:




    Hi I m more or less a newbie with computers .

    Recently I was emptying out old installations from a secondary drive which was originally in an old computer. I uninstalled Zone Alarm from this folder thinking it would just get rid of the old installation. It ended up removing my current installation. (Yes I know this should have been obvious)

    I then reinstalled ZA Free. I restarted the computer when prompted and when the computer rebooted the installation did not complete as expected but also left my wireless with no connectivity. I can connect to my wireless network with good strength but can t access the www.

    I ve tried all the basics that I can think of. Any help would be appreciated?

    Operating System:Windows Vista Home Basic
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm (Free)

    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>There are Over 60 Million Users of ZoneAlarm world Wide.. and Very Few People ever log onto a Support Forum to say how Great the Program is, This Forum exist to help the Few Users who encounter a problem and need to be guided in the right direction..The simplest procedure is to:1.Download the ZAFree 7.1.254.00installer: http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/fre...ory_vista.html(preferably with IE7 and no Download Manager/accelerator like Get-Right)2. On your current ZA, UNcheck "Load ZA... at startup" (under overview --&gt; preferences tab)3. Reboot the system4. Install the new update (clean or upgrade) and Accept the default Setting, Auto-Learn Mode and Trusted Zone, not the Internet Zone..Here is a List of the Most common User problems..a.) The first thing a Hacker, Trojan or Virus tries to do if they infect your computer or gain access to your Computer, thru an Email Attachment or pop-up on a Website or user over-ridding the Security alerts by the firewall, is to shutdown, any Firewall, AV/AS.. that is why some users have problems updating ZoneAlarm or any other security program..vsmon.exe/TrueVector is the first thing that loads when your computer stats to boot up, the ZA tray Icon is just a Icon that loads later in the Boot-up.. and TrueVector /vsmon.exe is the last thing to shutdown when your computer shuts down to insure that your computer is always protected..That is why in "Load ZoneAlarm on startup in not Un-checked" and computer Rebooted, Truevector will stay in Memory and will not be removed during Install or Upgrade, in fact the install may fail because Truevector in an attempt to protect your computer will think that the New Install attempt to install a new version of Truevector may be a Hacker Attempting to shut down Truevector..That is why it is Important to use the Un-Check "Start ZA on Startup" method so that a New Upgrade Copy of trueVector/vsmon.exe can bee installed..b.) some Computer Users thinkhttp://s118.photobucket.com/albums/o...2/th_1what.gif that if one Firewall and anti-Virus is good, two or three different ones running at the same time must be better? http://s118.photobucket.com/albums/o.../th_1mad-1.gif

    1- have you properly un-installed any previous firewall and/or anti-virus?? = this needs to be done - http://forums.zonelabs.org/zonelabs/...message.id=162. Most new pc/laptops come with pre-installed security software, which should be properly un-installed prior to installing any ZoneAlarm firewall product. <HR>

    Just One, Not Two -- Never use two software Firewalls at the same time. Completely uninstall one before installing another. Use the vendor's uninstall utility or if not available, use the Windows XP or Vistaadd/remove software tool in the control panel.<HR>Just One, Not Two -- Never use two anti-virus products at the same time. Completely uninstall one before installing another. Use the vendor's uninstall utility or if not available, use the Windows XPor Vistaadd/remove software tool in the control panel.
    ---------------------------------------
    My Vista Configuration:

    http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...4990GV_sig.jpg
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version:7.1.254.000
    TrueVector version:7.1.254.000
    Driver version:7.1.254.000
    Anti-virus engine version:3
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version:949841768
    Anti-spyware engine version:5.0.189.0
    Anti-spyware signature DAT file version:01.200804.3795
    AntiSpam version:5.0.0.8843
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Second Computer Vista Home Premium SP1
    ZoneAlarm Pro version:7.1.254.000
    TrueVector version:7.1.254.000
    Driver version:7.1.254.000
    Anti-spyware engine version:5.0.189.0
    Anti-spyware signature DAT file version:01.200804.3795
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    fllabbergasted Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Free failed to install and now I can t connect .

    I read through these instructions beforehand but they don't seem to apply....
    The first problem is Zone Alarm is not installed on my computer anymore.....I had uninstalled the program and then attempted to reinstall it.
    At this point almost nothing is loading at start-up.
    (I have most everything clicked off).
    I do have one theory, though likely wrong: Zone Alarm blocks access to the internet until it is fully loaded if I remember correctly?
    Could this setting be still on my computer and not allowing access indefinitely because Zone Alarm is not reinstalling perhaps because I used an older uninstall file to uninstall Zone Alarm.
    I don't see what could be blocking Zone Alarm from completing installation since none of my Anti-Virus, Spyware programs are running.
    This does lead to the second half of your response....I do have Spyware Terminator, AVG and Defender on my computer.
    I don't believe uninstalling these programs is going to allow ZA to install since it does not even seem to be trying to complete installation.




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Free failed to install and now I can t connect .


    <BLOCKQUOTE><HR>Fllabbergasted wrote:
    I read through these instructions beforehand but they don't seem to apply....The first problem is Zone Alarm is not installed on my computer anymore.....I had uninstalled the program and then attempted to reinstall it. At this point almost nothing is loading at start-up.(I have most everything clicked off).I do have one theory, though likely wrong: Zone Alarm blocks access to the internet until it is fully loaded if I remember correctly? Could this setting be still on my computer and not allowing access indefinitely because Zone Alarm is not reinstalling perhaps because I used an older uninstall file to uninstall Zone Alarm.I don't see what could be blocking Zone Alarm from completing installation since none of my Anti-Virus, Spyware programs are running.This does lead to the second half of your response....I do have Spyware Terminator, AVG and Defender on my computer. I don't believe uninstalling these programs is going to allow ZA to install since it does not even seem to be trying to complete installation.
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Thank you for your Feedback..Did you prperly Uninstall ZoneAlarm, by first going into Overview/Preferences and Un-check "Load ZoneAlarm on Startup"if not then this can lead to a failed Re-install or TrueVector Error..this usually means that a version of vsutil.dll or vsmon.exe is still on your system. To correct the problem insure the old version are completely removed before installing, or upgrading.
    See this KB from ZA, they are for XP systems and not VISTA. The file names will be the same but they may be located in different places.http://www2.nohold.net/noHoldCust542...on_failed.htmlhttp://www2.nohold.net/noHoldCust542...snetutils.html

    ---------------------

    Here is a Quote from another User about "Spyware Terminator"

    Okay, I finally solved it on my computer. But prior to that I found a bunch of different references online to this same error message, and those who solved it all seemed to solve it in different ways! (So apparently this error message can arise due to a wide number of scenarios.)

    In short, I disabled (and removed from the Startup folder) the program "Spyware Terminator," which is an anti-spyware program I had installed intentionally. By performing those actions, it solved not only the error message (No disk, etc.), but also allowed Windows Defender to update itself successfully once again. (The updates kept failing recently, and little did I know the source of the problem was the same as the error message we're addressing here.) Spyware Terminator may not necessarily be a bad program, even though it's the culprit in this case. Perhaps I could tweak some settings and have it not create these conflicts.
    ------------------------------

    You may want to read this Vista Forum link..

    http://forum.zonelabs.org/zonelabs/b...message.id=162
    ---------------------------------------
    My Vista Configuration:

    http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...4990GV_sig.jpg
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version:7.1.254.000
    TrueVector version:7.1.254.000
    Driver version:7.1.254.000
    Anti-virus engine version:3
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version:949841768
    Anti-spyware engine version:5.0.189.0
    Anti-spyware signature DAT file version:01.200804.3795
    AntiSpam version:5.0.0.8843
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Second Computer Vista Home Premium SP1
    ZoneAlarm Pro version:7.1.254.000
    TrueVector version:7.1.254.000
    Driver version:7.1.254.000
    Anti-spyware engine version:5.0.189.0
    Anti-spyware signature DAT file version:01.200804.3795




    Message Edited by GeorgeV on 04-30-2008 04:47 PM
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    fllabbergasted Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Free failed to install and now I can t connect .

    Thanks for you help.....
    Now the next
    problem if you can help....I've worked through the steps (manually deleting old ZA files)
    and tried hooking up my computer directly to the router but unfortunately the computer will not accept an internet connection in any way.
    So at this point I'm wondering how I can reload the ZA onto my computer.

    Also fixing my root certificates seems rather difficult without an internet connection.
    I do have a second computer.
    Is it possible to transfer this from one computer to another?
    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Free failed to install and now I can t connect .


    <BLOCKQUOTE><HR>Fllabbergasted wrote:
    Thanks for you help.....Now the nextproblem if you can help....I've worked through the steps (manually deleting old ZA files)and tried hooking up my computer directly to the router but unfortunately the computer will not accept an internet connection in any way. So at this point I'm wondering how I can reload the ZA onto my computer.Also fixing my root certificates seems rather difficult without an internet connection.I do have a second computer. Is it possible to transfer this from one computer to another?Thanks.
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>You can transfer the Install file, But not the ZA Setup after it is installed, as you will not have the proper Registry Files in the other computer.. otherwise you might get this Error..http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...ogwonthunt.jpg
    .....and if you don't know how to add your DNS and DHCP to the trusted zone just look to the link below for a detailed guidance:

    How to determine your DNS/DHCP: http://zonealarm.donhoover.net/dnsdhcp.html
    How to add them to the trusted zone: http://zonealarm.donhoover.net/adding.html
    What to add to the trusted zone: http://zonealarm.donhoover.net/trustedzonecontents.html--------------------------------------------------------
    My XP Configuration:
    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version:7.0.473.000
    TrueVector version:7.0.473.000
    Driver version:7.0.473.000
    Anti-virus engine version:3
    Anti-virus SDK version:5.0.1.85
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version:950162970
    Anti-spyware engine version:5.0.189.0
    Anti-spyware signature DAT file version:01.200804.3805
    AntiSpam version:5.0.6.8903
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    fllabbergasted Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Free failed to install and now I can t connect .

    The next problem in this saga....
    (installation failed: download file is not zonealarm installation file....)
    I tried to download the install file to the desktop and CD drive
    on my Windows XP laptop intending to then transfer the file to my Vista system.
    I get the above error message.
    I have ZA already installed on the laptop.
    I read and I believe followed
    this message but it didn't seem to help:
    http://forums.zonelab.com/zonelabs/b...ssage.id=73488
    Any help is greatly appreciated.


  8. #8
    fllabbergasted Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Free failed to install and now I can t connect .

    Woohooo....Solved it and back online....
    Thanks for your help....
    I'd buy you a drink if i could....
    Take Care.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Zone Alarm Free failed to install and now I can t connect .


    <BLOCKQUOTE><HR>Fllabbergasted wrote:
    Woohooo....Solved it and back online....Thanks for your help....I'd buy you a drink if i could....Take Care.
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>Thank You.. http://s118.photobucket.com/albums/o.../th_1yahoo.gifYeah1 Bring on the Beer! http://s118.photobucket.com/albums/o...h_SamAdams.jpg http://s118.photobucket.com/albums/o...ntaPicking.jpg---------------------------------------
    My Vista Configuration:

    http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...4990GV_sig.jpg
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version:7.1.254.000
    TrueVector version:7.1.254.000
    Driver version:7.1.254.000
    Anti-virus engine version:3
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version:950231584
    Anti-spyware engine version:5.0.189.0
    Anti-spyware signature DAT file version:01.200805.3815
    AntiSpam version:5.0.0.8843
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Second Computer Vista Home Premium SP1
    ZoneAlarm Pro version:7.1.254.000
    TrueVector version:7.1.254.000
    Driver version:7.1.254.000
    Anti-spyware engine version:5.0.189.0
    Anti-spyware signature DAT file version:01.200805.3815
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •