Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: "wusa is still running" message during installation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    48

    Default "wusa is still running" message during installation

    I just installed zaSuiteSetup_80_059_000_en.exe on top of my ZASS 7 setup. During the installation I got a message box entitled 'wusa is still running'. It had two buttons: OK and Cancel, and that's it. I clicked OK and now think I shouldn't have. Any idea what this is?

    Operating System:Windows Vista Home Premium
    Software Version:8.0
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,464

    Default Re: "wusa is still running" message during installation


    <BLOCKQUOTE><HR>rickola wrote:
    I just installed zaSuiteSetup_80_059_000_en.exe on top of my ZASS 7 setup. During the installation I got a message box entitled 'wusa is still running'. It had two buttons: OK and Cancel, and that's it. I clicked OK and now think I shouldn't have. Any idea what this is?

    Operating System:Windows Vista Home Premium
    Software Version:8.0
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite

    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>2. On your current ZA did you , UNcheck "Load ZA... at startup" (under Overview --&gt; Preferences tab)3. Reboot the Computer. So that vsmon.exe/TrueVector will be removed from Memory4. Install the new update (clean or upgrade) and Accept the default Setting, Auto-Learn Mode and Choose Trusted Zone, not Internet Zone..Please note that ZASS does not play nice with many overlapping security tools (even if disabled). To troubleshoot ZASS issues remove them and install back once you see that ZA works as it should. For example, spyspweeper, spyware doctor, trojan hunter, adware, SpyBotS&amp;D, PC tools Threatfire, otherantivirus, antispyware, registry locking tools, etc...Here is a List of the Most common User problems..a.) The first thing a Hacker, Trojan or Virus tries to do if they infect your computer or gain access to your Computer, thru an Email Attachment or pop-up on a Website or user over-ridding the Security alerts by the firewall, is to shutdown, any Firewall, AV/AS.. That is why some users have problems updating ZoneAlarm or any other security program..vsmon.exe/TrueVector is the first thing that loads when your computer starts to boot up, the ZA tray Icon is just a Icon that loads later in the Boot-up process..and TrueVector /vsmon.exe is the last thing to shutdown when your computer shuts down to insure that your computer is always protected..That is why " if Load ZoneAlarm on startup in not Un-checked" and computer Rebooted, Truevector will stay in Memory and will not be removed during Install or Upgrade, in fact the install may fail because Truevector in an attempt to protect your computer will think that the New Install attempt to install a new version of Truevector may be a Hacker Attempting to shut down Truevector..That is why it is very Important to use the Un-Check "Start ZA on Startup" method so that a New Upgrade Copy of TrueVector/vsmon.exe can be installed..b.) some Computer Users thinkhttp://s118.photobucket.com/albums/o...2/th_1what.gif that if one Firewall and anti-Virus is good, two or three different ones running at the same time must be better? http://s118.photobucket.com/albums/o.../th_1mad-1.gif
    ---------------------------------------
    My Vista Configuration:

    http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o...4990GV_sig.jpg
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version:8.0.059.000
    TrueVector version:8.0.059.000
    Driver version:8.0.059.000
    Anti-virus engine version:6.0.2.678
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version:962571502
    Anti-spyware engine version:5.0.202.0
    Anti-spyware signature DAT file version:01.200810.4795
    AntiSpam version:5.0.61.9957
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Second Computer Vista Home Premium SP1 (32-Bit)
    ZoneAlarm Pro version:8.0.020.000
    TrueVector version:8.0.020.000
    Driver version:8.0.020.000
    Anti-spyware engine version:5.0.202.0
    Anti-spyware signature DAT file version:01.200810.4795
    A Vast 4.8 Anti-Virus Home Edition
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: "wusa is still running" message during installation

    Thanks. I did as you suggested and ZASS 8.0 installed ok this time, though everything seems to be slow. Well, I'll look at that.

    Can you tell me what 'WUSA' is (or was)? Makes me nervous!

    Thanks much.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,464

    Default Re: "wusa is still running" message during installation


    <BLOCKQUOTE><HR>rickola wrote:
    Thanks. I did as you suggested and ZASS 8.0 installed ok this time, though everything seems to be slow. Well, I'll look at that.

    Can you tell me what 'WUSA' is (or was)? Makes me nervous!

    Thanks much.
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    Here is what I found out from MicroSoft Help and Support about WUSA..http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929761..
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: "wusa is still running" message during installation

    So WUSA = Windows Update Stand-Alone installer. C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUSA.EXE -- it's apparently a Windows system tool that the ZASS installer probably utilizes in the course of doing its installation. Thank you very much for helping me with this.

    Otherwise, general computer functions do now appear to be slowed down compared to when I had ZASS 7 installed -- any idea what that could be?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    9,057

    Default Re: "wusa is still running" message during installation

    Actually the ZA installer does not use any windows installer and just uses it's own builtin installer.

    Uninstall the ZA using the "Clean Uninstall" link below, download a new copy from the correct link below (and use only the Internet Explorer with no download accelerators or manager) and install the ZA in the Safe Mode.
    That is if the ZA is already installed on your computer.

    Best regards.
    Oldsod.
    Best regards.
    oldsod

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    48

    Default Re: "wusa is still running" message during installation

    Thanks for your help. I don't see either of the two links you mention in your message.

    Is the uninstall and re-install meant to solve the problems with computer functions being slow? Any idea why it's happening?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    9,057

    Default Re: "wusa is still running" message during installation

    http://www2.nohold.net/noHoldCust542...n_install.html

    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...ory_vista.html

    (also seen below in the links of my signature).

    Usually a uninstall and re-install will resolve the problem.
    Just make sure to follow the instructions of the clean uninstall before installing the ZA.

    Best regards.
    Oldsod.
    Best regards.
    oldsod

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •