Thread: Can't Update ZoneAlarm Pro to the ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite (aka the vc90rt.msi Problem)

Hybrid View

pjebsen Guest

Default Can't Update ZoneAlarm Pro to the ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite (aka the vc90rt.msi Problem)

For many years now, I've been a happy ZoneAlarm Pro user. I did all my updates and paid my yearly fee. Everything worked fine - until February 2009.

Against better knowledge, I violated the "Never Mess With a Working System" rule when I tried to upgrade from ZoneAlarm Pro to the ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite.

I first tried to install ZASS over ZAP and received error messages like the following ones (they are in German - but maybe they make sense to some of you):

>> GLB4B.tmp - Einsprungpunkt nicht gefunden
    Der Prozedureinsprungpunkt "CM_Get_DevNode_Status" wurde in der DLL "SETUPAPI.dll" nicht gefunden.

>> Die DLL-Bibliothek C:\WINDOWS\system32\vsutil.dll konnte nicht geladen werden. Die angegebene Prozedur wurde nicht gefunden.

Again, this was in February. Until now, I didn't have time to do further research.

Today, I finally got around to read several messages in this forum's "Zone Alarm Installation" thread. I followed some of the recommendations.

Therefore, I ...

... unchecked "Load ZA... at startup" and rebooted the computer, in order to remove vsmon.exe/TrueVector from memory.

... used the ZoneAlarm removal tool (http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...cpes_clean.exe) because a manual removal of ZA Pro didn't work.

... sucessfully deinstalled my previous anti-virus tool (Avira's free AntiVirus).

... tried to install the latest version of the ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite (found here: http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...seHistory.html).

When the installation process was 5% complete ...

>> Installing
    Copying ZoneAlarm pre-requisites:
    C:\...\LOKALE~1\Temp\040109222611\vc90rt.msi

... I received the following error messages:

>> GLB11.tmp - Einsprungpunkt nicht gefunden