Thread: ZA causing problems, Help?

Hybrid View

irzapper Guest

Default ZA causing problems, Help?

Hello,
    I'm new to ZA, just installed ZA Pro for the first time.
    Now, none of my other programs that I
    had configured to automatically start when windows opened, no longer open.
    What's up?
    I had about eight icons that I want to show up in the system tray, ie volume control, fax machine, anonymizer, spy sweeper, battery backup, etc etc....
    Now the only two items that launch and show up in th system tray are ZA and Norton Antivirus.
    Any suggestions on how to get things back to normal the way I had it?
    I'd like to get things back to the way it was in my system tray.
    Thanks for any support.
    irzapper03/05/06at 2:12am PST

Operating System:Windows XP Home Edition
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Pro
    Software Version:6.1

erush Guest

Default Re: ZA causing problems, Help?

I just installed Zone Alarm yesterday & I am having the same exact problem.
    The only icon that comes up for me in the system tray is the volume icon.

erush Guest

BillCherryAtl, I tried uninstalling it the way you said & after I reinstalled it, it was still doing the same thing.
    If I uncheck
    load at startup on Zone Alarm, all the icons come up properly in the system tray.
    Its only messing up when ZA loads at startup

billc Guest

That's very strange and one I've not seen before. You may need to remove Zone Alarm manually and then reinstall again. First try this. Go to your Zone Alarm Program Control > Main panel and turn off program control. Make sure you have the 'load at boot' checked for Zone Alarm then reboot and tell me what happens. I'm trying to see if Zone Alarm is blocking some program that affects this behavior. BTW, are you using the free version or a paid version?

erush Guest

I tried turning program controll off & when I restarted it was still doing the same thing.