Thread: Email attachment blocking problems

maxmac Guest

Default Email attachment blocking problems

Hello All ZASS users,
    Please forgive my inexperience, but I am very new to ZA and am trying hard to get the hang of it by myself.

One major problem is that I cannot open certain attachments sent to me through email - even though I know they are safe (e.g. messages from my family and especially email attachments from my uni which relate to my study). I expect I have to "uncross" something in the programs section but am not sure and don't want to do the wrong thing. Can anyone advise me please?

Also, ZASS freezes after it has done a (17hr!)scan. I have to restart my computer to get it working properly again. Is there something wrong?

My computer is very new (Intel(R)Core(TMz)CPU, 6320@1.86GHz, 1.87GHz, 2.00GB RAM, if that means anything to anyone and I am running Windows XP Home OS and have no other security program opreating apart from ZASS.

I'd appreciate any helpful advice as I'm particularly in a jam over my uni emails.

Operating System:Windows XP Home Edition
    Software Version:
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite

naivemelody Guest

Default Re: Email attachment blocking problems

This is from the ZA User Guide - right click ZA tray icon - see &quot;Help&quot; read chapters on &quot;Email Protection.&quot; This is one method you can use - when you see your inbox and you know which emails and attachments you want/trust and want to open - just prior to opening &quot;shut-off&quot; /disable' - Inbound Mailsafe.<hr>Enabling Inbound MailSafe protection<a target="_blank"></a>

Inbound MailSafe protection is enabled by default. When enabled, Inbound MailSafe quarantines attachment types listed on the Attachments tab.<a target="_blank"></a>

To enable or disable Inbound MailSafe:<div class="pSmartList1">
    1. <a target="_blank"></a>