Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: File system performance problem with ZA free 7.0.408+

mattias Guest

Default File system performance problem with ZA free 7.0.408+

I am a Java developer sometimes developing enterprise web applications on my home computer, where ZoneAlarm Free is installed.
    Some while back I upgraded ZoneAlarm from 7.0.337 to 7.0.408. This had a huge impact on the performance on the locally run web server (Resin from Caucho). When I finally realized ZA had caused this, I went back to 7.0.337.

So, the other day I was naive enough to think the problems had been fixed, so I upgraded to 7.0.483. Bad, bad idea... The local web server is incredibly slow again. After some debugging and profiling, it seems what is taking so long is the modification checking, in which the web server reads the modification date and file size of a couple of hundred/thousand files. Comparing office computer, the date/size requests take about 20 times longer time with ZoneAlarm 7.0.4xx installed.

Has anyone else seen this?
    Is there a setting in ZA that could affect this?
    Could this be a conflict with some other application? (Like AVG Free...?)
    Any tips on how to go about debugging and/or resolving this???

Operating System:Windows XP Pro
    Software Version:7.0
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm (Free)

Default Re: File system performance problem with ZA free 7.0.408+

Hi!
    have you tried with a trial version of ZAPRO and check if anything is logged in the ZAlogs, also ZAPRO comes free of antivirus components that may conflict with your system?

You could also try the new ZA 8, if anything may have improved meanwhile
    http://www.zonealarm.com/store/conte...eeDownload.jsp

Please remember that ZA does NOT support any version of windows XP prior to SP2. If you wish to use older unsecured XP installation downgrade to ZA 7.0.337.000

Cheers,
    Fax

Message Edited by fax on 08-26-2008 09:06 PM

Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time