Thread: Are there books that cover ZoneAlarm? New to the forums.

spacetrucker Guest

Default Are there books that cover ZoneAlarm? New to the forums.

Just bought ZoneAlarm Extreme Security Suite version 8. I'm asking if there's books available that cover the app in depth, the config, rulesets, etc similar to the NGX books? I've been searching the forums and reading some threads by OldSod and SlyFox, the FAQ's and found Dan Hoovers site. I've gotten some good examples of rulesets. I've worked with NG and NGX, wouldn't claim to be an expert, but I have some experience. Suggestions on other sites or links or threads to read is appreciated.

Thanks

Operating System:Windows XP Pro
    Software Version:8.0
    Product Name:ZoneAlarm Extreme Security

Default Re: Are there books that cover ZoneAlarm? New to the forums.

What are NGX books? (sorry for not knowing).

What about the help file that comes with the ZA (open ZA and press the [F1] key)?
    Does it have any info about the new ZA?

I do not use the new ZoneAlarm Extreme Security Suite version 8 or the ZAFF, I just use the ZA Pro so I would not be much help with the new suite.

Oldsod.
    Best regards.
    oldsod

spacetrucker Guest

Howdy Oldsod,

Your post dated 10-22-08, titled Help with Expert Rules, got me started with my ruleset, so that was most helpful. Been checking out Dan Hoovers site too, he's also got some examples. I have taken a look at the Help documentation also. I've me some expert rules going now, so that's cool, gives me a chance to get familiar with the log files.

The NG and NGX books cover Checkpoints Enterprise firewall product. I was kinda hoping there would be one for ZoneAlarm that really looks under the hood and explains how the app works, best practices, etc. I've been poking and prodding it for awhile today.