Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: [SOLVED] ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

  1. #1
    zooll Guest

    Default [SOLVED] ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

    I'm Running Vista SP2 (64bit) fully MS patched.
    Upgraded my Extreme Edition from 8.0.400.020 to the latest 2010 version.

    I find that any application which is set to "Ask for Permission" is allowed Internet access and ZoneAlarm doesn't generate the alert as it should. (In this case Internet Explorer and Windows Media Player are a couple of examples ... )

    I was wondering if anyone else is experiencing this with the new version ?
    Last edited by fax; September 7th, 2009 at 07:26 AM. Reason: Title

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

    We now also use the Windows Catalog in the OS to determine safe applications.

    Its probably overriding your settings.

    Open help in ZA and search for windows catalog to learn more about this options and its settings.


    Forum Moderator.

  3. #3
    zooll Guest

    Thumbs up Re: ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

    Thanks for the reply mod, its very handy to know.

    I will reinstall the latest version and test (removed as I assumed the product wasn't working correctly and may have been vunerable).

    Is there a changelog of available for users to see ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,287

    Default Re: ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

    Quote Originally Posted by zooll View Post
    Thanks for the reply mod, its very handy to know.

    I will reinstall the latest version and test (removed as I assumed the product wasn't working correctly and may have been vunerable).

    Is there a changelog of available for users to see ?
    Also check you are not in "AUTO Learn" Mode (ZA program control --> Main). ZAX change log

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    zooll Guest

    Default Re: ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

    good afternoon fax,

    definitely not in auto learn mode.
    Program Control set to Maximum (this was set during install)
    Smart Defense Advisor set to Manual (this was set during install)

    Connection Attempts/Server Attempts (Access Permissions Tab) within Advanced Program Settings are ALL set to "Always ask for permission" and "Always ask before Connecting" respectively .... hence my initial concern.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,287

    Default Re: ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

    Quote Originally Posted by zooll View Post
    good afternoon fax,

    definitely not in auto learn mode.
    Program Control set to Maximum (this was set during install)
    Smart Defense Advisor set to Manual (this was set during install)

    Connection Attempts/Server Attempts (Access Permissions Tab) within Advanced Program Settings are ALL set to "Always ask for permission" and "Always ask before Connecting" respectively .... hence my initial concern.
    Any other executable than Microsoft been tested?
    If not, then it is like Forum Mod. has suggested.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    zooll Guest

    Default Re: ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

    Haven't tested non-MS apps yet but will certainly do so this evening andget back to you guys (hopefully forummod is correct)

    However I do not favour this design because I may not wish MS-Excel, for example, connecting to the Internet Zone without my consent. Surely the setting "Ask for Permission" should remain as such if you set Program Control settings are set to Maximum.

    Your thoughts ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,287

    Default Re: ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

    Quote Originally Posted by zooll View Post
    Your thoughts ?
    Honestly I like as it is... trusted programs should be able to connect.
    Otherwise you should bin the entire OS. If you start to worry also about trusted processes than you become slave of the security programme to be able to block legitimate executables.

    The issue is to block malware, spyware or unwanted programs, the rest should be free to fly.

    My phylosophy is: what it is inside my PC is what I trust otherwise it wouln't be in my PC

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    zooll Guest

    Default Re: ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

    I absolutley agree that legit exe's/dll's should be allowed access without you having to worrying about them. The point I was trying to make was if an application shows "ask for permission" .... regardless whether its trusted or not, shouldn't simply allow access as it gives a false sense of security ... if you follow my meaning.

    Thanks for the thoughts .... will let you know my findings asap

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,287

    Default Re: ZA Extreme 2010: Program Control not working

    Quote Originally Posted by zooll View Post
    Thanks for the thoughts .... will let you know my findings asap
    Btw, to anticipate your findings... you will see that with ZA program control set to MAX and Microsoft catalogue UNticked you will get the prompt

    Just tested it.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •