Thread: ZA Pro 6.1.744.001 no longer works

jfzone Guest

Default ZA Pro 6.1.744.001 no longer works

I think I had a similar thing happen to me for Z-Pro's recent update, only I don't see a failure on bootup. The update file came down late Friday and in the process, something went terribly wrong but I wasn't aware of it or alerted to an issue. Actually, I thought it finished running correctly so I just shut the system off for the night. Tonight I noticed I have NO Zone Alarm Pro in the tray anymore. When I try to run the downloaded application update, I get this message now:

You have ZoneAlarm 6.1.744.001 currently installed on your computer which cannot be upgraded. (HUH????)

Please uninstall ZoneAlarm and restart the ZoneAlarm Pro Installation. (HUHHH x2???)

I've been running Z-Pro for almost 2 years (Free "Zoner" for years prior) and have no idea where this is coming from now. (No prior failures thru all the updates of Z-Pro.)

I do see I have a "vsmon" process running and can't shut it down. My ZA install folder has nothing left in it but a couple log files left over from the night of the failure. Everything else is gone from my install folder. I'm not sure where Z-Pro is hiding if something is actually left on the drive.

So, I have nothing to uninstall. Windows doesn't have an entry and I have no application. Can't go forward, can't go backward. Can I get some help as to where to proceed next? Thanks.

jfzone Guest

Unhappy Re:UPGRADE PROBLEM (error: ZA Pro 6.1.744.001 no longer works)

THIS IS AN INSTALLATION / UPGRADE PROBLEM WITH 8.X AND 9.X OF ZONEALARM PRO, NOT A PROBLEM WITH RUNNING 6.X

To make it clear (now that someone has shuffled this off to an orphan thread), I was NOT HAVING PROBLEMS WITH 6.X. REPEAT: THIS IS AN UPGRADE FAILURE, NOT A PROBLEM WITH TRYING TO RUN 6.X

This became a problem with 8.x version which was downloaded on it's own upgrade attempt. Why it chose 8.x instead of 9.x is not something I controlled.