Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Leak Test Failure

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    rojoloho Guest

    Default Leak Test Failure

    Been using ZAPro for several years.. XP & Vista... Always used Gibson Research Leak Test to check my firewall.. Now a new installation of Win7 and Leak Test tells me that fire wall has been penetrated.. Tried various ZA settings and unable to get it fixed.

    Any Ideas ?? Does anyone have a suggestion of another FIRE Wall TESTER ??

  2. #2
    bunnyfugger Guest

    Default Re: Leak Test Failure

    Quote Originally Posted by rojoloho View Post
    Been using ZAPro for several years.. XP & Vista... Always used Gibson Research Leak Test to check my firewall.. Now a new installation of Win7 and Leak Test tells me that fire wall has been penetrated.. Tried various ZA settings and unable to get it fixed.

    Any Ideas ?? Does anyone have a suggestion of another FIRE Wall TESTER ??
    Hi,

    I don't understand how using a different firewall tester will help. Perhaps better to report your findings to ZA Technical Support. That way any problems will be fixed. Simply using a different firewall tester that tells you all is OK (when it isn't) is only fooling yourself.

    Please explain further if you think I've missed something here....

    Regards.

    Windows XP SP3 (fully patched)

    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version:9.1.008.000
    TrueVector version:9.1.008.000
    Driver version:9.1.008.000
    Anti-virus engine version:8.0.2.42
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version:997357248
    AntiSpam version:6.0.0.2383

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: Leak Test Failure

    Quote Originally Posted by rojoloho View Post
    Been using ZAPro for several years.. XP & Vista... Always used Gibson Research Leak Test to check my firewall.. Now a new installation of Win7 and Leak Test tells me that fire wall has been penetrated.. Tried various ZA settings and unable to get it fixed.

    Any Ideas ?? Does anyone have a suggestion of another FIRE Wall TESTER ??
    Hi!
    go to ZA program control --> Custom --> UNcheck "Enable Microsoft Catalogue Utilization". Reboot the PC. Test now.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    rojoloho Guest

    Default Re: Leak Test Failure

    Working now !! Thanks

    Still curious bout a good firewall tester...

    Maybe with explanations!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: Leak Test Failure

    There are a lot of tests but they do not mirror the reality, they are just tests.

    Better you base your assessment on the experience you have with the tool on the ground.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: Leak Test Failure

    Just tested this on my Win 7 system

    Turning Catalog utilization didn't make a difference.
    Microsoft does not by default put the grc leak test in there catalog of OK programs.

    What does affect the out come of the test is Program control in Auto (learning mode) In that mode a leak test will get through and you don't get prompted by the firewall alert that your supposed to Deny.

    In max mode you get prompted and you click deny and the firewall does its job and blocks it.

    If you allow it access of course it fails, just like the grc leak test tells you it will and that not a valid test.

    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,286

    Default Re: Leak Test Failure

    Hello Moderator,

    then there must be a problem with that option on some setups. I have tested it again and indeed I confirm the findings: ZA will not prompt for action unless I Uncheck "Enable Microsoft Catalogue Utilization". This is already with ZA Program control to MAX.

    If "Microsoft Catalogue Utilization" should have no effectes on http://www.grc.com/files/leaktest.exe than we are probably facing an implementation bug (at least on my setup: WIN7 32bit, ZAX 9.1)

    May be you are using a internal build that fixed the problem?

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; November 19th, 2009 at 03:04 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •