I have the new 'free' zone alarm.

I have set 'preferences' to update/manual so it should not keep checking for newer versions as of course I will do this manually when it suits me

However I keep getting the pop-up message "the product identification for your current copy ...sent to zone alarm.. etc etc

Why is ZA checking for newer versions when I have the preferences set to 'manual'.