Thread: Can't completely uninstall ZoneAlarm Pro

marctattoo Guest

Default Can't completely uninstall ZoneAlarm Pro

Hi!

I have been using ZA PRO since a few years but I have to admit that as the time past and you "updated" your versions of Zone Alarm PRO I was getting more and more frustrated as I found that the updates weren't really working! Lately I updated my Zone Alarm PRO to the 9.1.008.000 version and it has been **** since then! This update not only took forever to install but did really slow down my computer!.. and is even less user friendly that the previous one (Automatic updates won't work, Anti Spyware scan has disappeared too ??? and more) ... to a point where I got really frustrated with Zone Alarm PRO. Therefore I decided that enough was enough and I wanted to get rid of it. Easier said than done!...
    I never saw a program that was so complicated to uninstall properly.

First it didn't want to uninstall itself because it said that some "True Vector Program / VSMON.EXE was being by another program??? ... As far as I know only ZA does use this program as it is ZA who installed it on my computer. Of course it blocked all my access to the Internet and it's only after a few hours of frustrating fights and after having unchecked the ZA Program via SPYBOT start up menu options that I managed to finally regain access to the Internet and got rid of the annoying indication panel regarding True Vector !!! So I finally managed to uninstall ZA PRO (?)...

At least that was what I thought that happened after I re-launched the uninstall option of ZA PRO.

Although the uninstall procedure finally seemed to run to its end without any problems, I did see that I still had VSMON.EXE-1609C098.pf in my C:\WINDOWS\Prefetch as well as a Zone Labs file in my HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE !!!

I then used your so called Cleaner: cpes-clean and it didnít work at all. The registry entries under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE are still there and so is VSMON.EXE-1609C098.pf!