Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Zonealarm Free Firewall Doesn't load at startup

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    pctechiej Guest

    Default Zonealarm Free Firewall Doesn't load at startup

    I have been using Zonealarm free firewall for a few weeks now. Every time I reboot my pc, windows security center pops up and notifies me my firewall is not turned on. In order to turn it on, I manually go to the program folder and click Zonealarm. I checked the Zonealarm settings and the "run on startup" box is checked. I also went to msconfig and it is listed in the startup tab. Any help you can give would be appreciated.
    Thank you,
    pctechiej
    Dell Inspiron 537s
    Vista Home Premium SP 2 64-Bit
    500 GB HDD
    4 GB RAM
    Intel Core 2 Duo Processor 2.70 GHZ
    IE 8

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Zonealarm Free Firewall Doesn't load at startup

    1.) check ZA Menu Overview, Preferences, Make sure that "Load Zone Alarm at Startup" is Checked..


    2.) if above is Checked, make sure that any other Security Program installed is not Blocking or conflicting with ZA Free Firewall..

    3.) Just One, Not Two -- Never use two software Firewalls at the same time. make sure Windows Firewall in Turned OFF.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    pctechiej Guest

    Default Re: Zonealarm Free Firewall Doesn't load at startup

    Thanks for your reply. I checked the pref. and the "load at startup" box was checked. I also am only running the ZA firewall, no others. I am currently using AVG AV 9, Ad-Aware, & Spybot S&D. Could any of these interfere with startup?
    Thx for your help.
    pctechiej

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Cool Re: Zonealarm Free Firewall Doesn't load at startup

    Quote Originally Posted by pctechiej View Post
    Thanks for your reply. I checked the pref. and the "load at startup" box was checked. I also am only running the ZA firewall, no others. I am currently using AVG AV 9, Ad-Aware, & Spybot S&D. Could any of these interfere with startup?
    Thx for your help.
    pctechiej

    Yes.. As each Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware Programs Evolve, they add more Features to their programs that Increasingly begine to conflict with other Security programs..

    Here is a List of Programs and features that may conflict with Zone Alarm..

    McAfee,AVG, Spyspweeper, NOD32, Spyware Doctor, trojan hunter, adware, SpyBotSearch & Destroy, PC tools Threat Fire, any other Anti-virus, Anti-spyware, Registry Guard or locking tools, etc...
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    pctechiej Guest

    Default Re: Zonealarm Free Firewall Doesn't load at startup

    I am currently using 2 of the conflicting prgrms. What would you suggest I do? I do like ZA because it monitors both incoming and outgoing traffic....
    I've used AVG forever, but will change if you have a suggestion. What would you do about Spybot S&D? Thx, pctechiej

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Zonealarm Free Firewall Doesn't load at startup

    Quote Originally Posted by pctechiej View Post
    I am currently using 2 of the conflicting prgrms. What would you suggest I do? I do like ZA because it monitors both incoming and outgoing traffic....
    I've used AVG forever, but will change if you have a suggestion. What would you do about Spybot S&D? Thx, pctechiej
    The AVG should be OK with ZA Free, Just check the AVG Configuration to make sure if it has a Registry Guard, then turn OFF that feature..

    I would Uninstall and Replace Spybot S&D with the FREE "MBAM" MalwareBytes.. http://forums.zonealarm.com/showthread.php?t=72635

    Please Post back here with your Progress Report
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 25th, 2009, 03:42 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 30th, 2008, 01:29 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 28th, 2006, 01:49 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 19th, 2006, 03:13 AM
  5. "Load ZoneAlarm at startup" setting ignored
    By stryker_oz in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2006, 12:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •