Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

  1. #1
    banter22 Guest

    Default vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

    I have been experiencing frequent occurrences of vsmon.exe taking 20 to 70 percent cpu. This does not allow other work to proceed. Is there any way to manually schedule and modify the priority of vsmon.exe?

  2. #2
    garywa Guest

    Default Re: vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

    You don't give us much information to go on.

    What OS and SP are you running - WinXP, Vista, WIn7, Sp2, SP3, etc.

    What ZA product are you running - Free Firewall, ZA Pro, ZAAV, ZAISS, ZAES, version number.

    For example, my PC info is in my sig and this is my ZA product information:

    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version:9.1.008.000
    TrueVector version:9.1.008.000
    Driver version:9.1.008.000
    Anti-virus engine version:8.0.2.42
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version:1012544000
    AntiSpam version:6.0.0.2383

    Once you provide usa with that information, we will be better able to offer suggestions.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,464

    Default Re: vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

    I agree with "garywa",

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country, without All the Details,without the ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..

    "
    I have been experiencing frequent occurrences of vsmon.exe taking 20 to 70 percent cpu."

    1.) If you several have other Security Program installed, they may be Competing with or Conflicting with Zone Alarm, causing "vsmon.exe" to occationaly use more CPU resouces..

    2.) Very old versions of Zone Alarm need to be updated to 9.1

    Windows need to be kept updated..
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    tigermaster36 Guest

    Default Re: vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

    Hi, I have the same problem, vsmon.exe flits between using 20% to 70% of my cpu. Obviously when it is at the high end, which is the majority of the time, it cause some fairly serious problems.

    My spec:
    Zonealarm pro 2010
    ZoneAlarm Security Suite version:9.1.008.000
    TrueVector version:9.1.008.000
    Driver version:9.1.008.000
    Anti-virus engine version:8.0.2.42
    Anti-virus signature DAT file version:1014170016
    AntiSpam version:6.0.0.2383

    Windows XP sp3
    Asus Netbook
    1.6 ghz atom (dual core) cpu
    1gb ddr3 ram

    That should be all you need to know, I have heard of some registry fix for this problem but it won't allow me to change the data values (I even tried in binary) so that was obviously for an older version of the same problem...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,464

    Default Re: vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

    Please read all of the Post about "Netbook" in the following Thrend..

    http://forums.zonealarm.com/showthread.php?t=73433
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    tigermaster36 Guest

    Default Re: vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

    I read them they have nothing to do with my problem for starters that guy was running windows 7 and he was having trouble with the datalock feature, which I don't even have enabled. Also vsmon.exe is not associated with this feature.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,464

    Post Re: vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

    Quote Originally Posted by tigermaster36 View Post
    I read them they have nothing to do with my problem for starters that guy was running windows 7 and he was having trouble with the datalock feature, which I don't even have enabled. Also vsmon.exe is not associated with this feature.

    This Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with ZoneAlarm and need to be guided in the right direction..

    If other users don't provide the Solution you want, then If you have a Valid ZA License key, you can Contact ZA Tech Support Live Chat directly with Full details of your Computer Hardware and Software..

    Tech Support is usually Closed on weekends..

    Click the link in my Signature..
    Last edited by GeorgeV; March 21st, 2010 at 03:45 PM.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #8
    tigermaster36 Guest

    Default Re: vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

    Been there, tried that, they, like most tech support, are fairly useless. That's Why I was hoping that the people who actually use the program could help. Anyone want to jump in here? Something that might help, I am running the same security suite on my pc, which is really old, and only has a single core processor and it doesn't have this problem, maybe its got something to do with multi threading? Sorry if I sound slightly annoyed but have being struggling with this for ages. Its not directed at anyone who has posted here.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,464

    Post Re: vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

    Sorry, Solutions from Most Tech Support services are only as good as the Information that you feed them about your Problem, and how to replicate your problem on their Test computers..

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country, without All the Details,without the ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..

    Tech Support does not know if the Solution they give you works, unless you Give them continued Feedback..


    ------------------------------------------------
    Last edited by GeorgeV; March 22nd, 2010 at 07:31 AM. Reason: typo
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,464

    Smile Re: vsmon.exe taking much cpu too often

    Since you have resolved your own problem..

    there is no need to keep this thrend up..

    Your welcome to start a new Thrend if you install another ZA Product and need help..
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. suddenly, vsmon.exe is taking over
    By junebug in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 5th, 2008, 09:05 PM
  2. ScanningProcess.exe taking over my CPU
    By neilfleming in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 21st, 2008, 05:22 PM
  3. vsmon & client taking 60% cpu
    By speedtrap in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2007, 12:44 AM
  4. scanningprocess.exe taking up all my cpu!
    By andyhorton in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 20th, 2007, 10:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •