Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [Solved] Status screen is blank!

  1. #1
    tundrawolf Guest

    Default [Solved] Status screen is blank!

    Hello,

    I am totally unable to change or see any settings in zonealarm free. The screen comes up blank, except for the zonealarm logo. I tried a clean installation and it still comes up this way.

    What can I do?
    Last edited by GeorgeV; April 6th, 2010 at 06:17 AM.

  2. #2
    garywa Guest

    Default Re: Status screen is blank!

    The ZA database sounds like it is corrupted and needs to be reset.

    To reset it, press and hold down the Ctrl+Shift and then right-click on the ZA logo in the System Tray. Then left-click on Reset and follow the on-screen instructions.

    This will set all options back to factory defaults so make note of any you have changed before resetting.

  3. #3
    tundrawolf Guest

    Default Re: Status screen is blank!

    Thank you, I did it and restarted twice-no change. It's still blank.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,461

    Default Re: Status screen is blank!

    Quote Originally Posted by tundrawolf View Post
    Thank you, I did it and restarted twice-no change. It's still blank.

    Sometime a Blank Screen is caused by a Corrupted or bad install of Zone alarm..

    Try this..

    The simplest procedure is to :


    1.) Download the Latest installer preferably with IE Browser and no Download Manager/accelerator like Get-Right, Livewire, Bit-Torrent, uTorrent) and save it to your Hard drive.


    (MultiPlatform, installer will install on Both WinXP SP3 and Vista and Windows7)

    ZAFREE http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/fre...seHistory.html

    2.) Before you Uninstall your current ZA, UNcheck "Load ZA... at startup" (under Overview - Preferences tab)
    (Skip this Step if you can not get to the ZA Control Menu)

    3.) Reboot the Computer. So that vsmon.exe/TrueVector will be removed from Memory

    4.) Now use the new ZoneAlarm Removal Tool: Click here http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...cpes_clean.exe

    Save to desktop, right click and "run as administrator" This tool will remove all ZoneAlarm products from your system.

    Please just download and run the tool, following the instructions. (you can un-install without net connections)

    5.) Now Install the new update (clean) and Accept the default Setting, Auto-Learn Mode and Choose Trusted Zone, not Internet Zone..
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    tundrawolf Guest

    Default Re: Status screen is blank!

    OK so that worked. But I didn't download it again, I just re-used the file I downloaded a few days ago (Opera with download accelerator btw). I couldn't access the control panel to disable it on startup, so I just uninstalled it then restarted twice, because after the first restart it still ran a program from the temporary folder.

    I reinstalled it from the file and it is working! Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,461

    Default Re: Status screen is blank!

    Your Welcome..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Almost blank screen
    By ellanvannin in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: November 30th, 2009, 11:07 PM
  2. Zone Alarm screen blank.
    By gredival in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 2nd, 2009, 04:35 AM
  3. Zone Alarm screen blank.
    By tictoc in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 8th, 2009, 01:36 AM
  4. Blank Screen/all controls missing since hotfix
    By sentient_being in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 11th, 2008, 08:31 AM
  5. blank ,white screen on exit
    By jjimbo in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 31st, 2008, 08:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •