Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

  1. #1
    Chittingfold Guest

    Default New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

    New Gateway desktop PC with Windows 7 64 bit.
    Hardwired to Actiontec router on Verizon FIOS.

    Only installed latest ZA Pro and Norton AV 2010 which are playing nice.

    Launch Internet Explorer and most of the time it will not go to any page.
    If it does go to a page I get garbage (like underlying html code) or at best a text version of the page with no graphics.

    Cannot run Windows Update which gives various errors such as 80072ee2.

    I can ping sites and get responses from a command line.

    Other PC on same network with ZA Pro works fine.

    If I completely unistall ZA Pro I can access all sites and run Windows Updates with no problems.

    Any suggestions or known issues with my OS/ZA combo?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Chittingfold Guest

    Default Re: New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

    Wow - 80 views but no replies!
    Did I mention I tried with versions:
    9.1.008.000
    9.1.507.000

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Smile Re: New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

    Quote Originally Posted by Chittingfold View Post
    Wow - 80 views but no replies!
    Did I mention I tried with versions:
    9.1.008.000
    9.1.507.000

    Welcome to the Zone Alarm User Forum..

    This User Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with ZoneAlarm and need to be guided in the right direction..


    I'm Sorry, But ZA Customer Support and Tech Support do not Monitor this User Supported Forum..

    Maybe none of those 80 Users that reviewed your post have experienced your problem..

    "New Gateway desktop PC with Windows 7 64 bit.
    Hardwired to Actiontec router on Verizon FIOS."


    If you can Access the Internet with ZA Pro 9.1 turned OFF,
    Please check your ZA Configuration..

    1.) Click Firewall, Main tab
    Make sure Internet Zone Security = High
    Make sure Trusted Zone Security = Medium (not High)

    2.) Click Firewall/ Zones
    Make sure averything listed in in the Trusted Zone, not Internet Zone

    3.) Program Control, Main Tab
    Program Comtrol = Maximum

    Please Post back here with your Progress Report



    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    Chittingfold Guest

    Default Re: New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

    1) Is set as you describe.
    2) Is set as you describe.
    3) Program Control - Do not see a "Maximum." My choices are High, Medium, Low and Off. Mine is at Medium.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Smile Re: New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

    Can you Access the Internet with ZA Pro 9.1 turned OFF?

  6. #6
    Chittingfold Guest

    Default Re: New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

    If it is just turned off (not running but still installed):

    If I launch Internet Explorer and most of the time it will not go to any page. If it does go to a page I get garbage (like underlying html code) or at best a text version of the page with no graphics.

    Cannot run Windows Update which gives various errors such as 80072ee2.

    If it is completely uninstalled I have full web access and can run Win Updates.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

    Thank you for your Feedback..

    Your ZA Pro License Key gives you Free access to ZA Tech Support Live Chat link..

    Please Click the Tech Support link in my Signature with the details of your problem..

    Also mention these details from you post in this forum..

    "New Gateway desktop PC with Windows 7 64 bit.
    Hardwired to Actiontec router on Verizon FIOS.

    Only installed latest ZA Pro and Norton AV 2010 which are playing nice."



    Please Post back here with your Progress Report so that Users of this Forum with a simular problem may benifit from the solution to your problem..
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #8
    Chittingfold Guest

    Default Re: New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

    I have already chatted with tech support and they could not help. I uploaded logs but they said it could take weeks for them to be reviewed. So I thought I would try the forums. I guess I need to ask for a refund and look at other firewall programs. Thanks for your help.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

    Your Welcome..

    I'm sorry you had a bad experience..
    I have ZA Extreme Security installed on two of my computer, Window 7 32 Bit and Windows 7 64-bit with 6 GB ram, with Linksys Broadband-G Router and Time Warner cable with no problems..

    Please Click on the Customer support link and ask for a refund..
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  10. #10
    Chittingfold Guest

    Default Re: New PC with Win 7, ZA Pro Can't access web

    Do you think it would be worth a try to install and test the Free ZoneAlarm or the Extreme Security? If I use Extreme I will need to delete Norton AV 2010, correct? Thanks.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Win XP Pro x64
    By sd_brad in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 10th, 2006, 09:49 PM
  2. Does ZA SS run on Win 2k Pro?
    By chaser in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 2nd, 2006, 06:19 AM
  3. Access Issues Zone Alarm Pro using Win 98 with Win Ex 6
    By colin_lane in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 31st, 2006, 09:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •