Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New Subnet Found Question

  1. #1
    mrhoffh Guest

    Thumbs down New Subnet Found Question

    Hi, I received a message today through zone alarm and i don't understand why.

    Also, I have already searched the forums, but didn't find anything that answered my question below.

    The message says New Subnet. On Startup, ZoneAlarm detected a new network with IP (169.254.0.0/255.255.0.0) and added it to the Internet Zone.

    It is telling me to pick Internet Zone or Trusted Zone after closing the first popup because I didn't want to add it to anything not knowing what it was.

    First that ip is NOT any ip on any of my devices, including my main computer, so I don't want to add it to anything until I know where it came from. ZoneAlarm isn't giving me the choice to say No to this, its only giving me the two options above.

    My question, how can I find out who or where this is originating from and how can I get rid of it if it's already in the Internet Zone even though I didn't specifically allow it? Now it is possible that it might be my broadband carrier, if so, how can I find that out too?


    Thanks in advance

    Michelle

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: New Subnet Found Question

    By searching the forum....

    Posted by Oldsod
    "....This happens if your windows "lost" the connection. 169.254.0.0 is "zero config" or basically a plug and play type of connection or to be clearer a non-routable address. The address is a like a default and goes nowhere and cannot go anywhere"

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    mrhoffh Guest

    Default Re: New Subnet Found Question

    so in other words, don't worry about it.... can you recommend a site where i can read about this?

    thanks

    Michelle

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: New Subnet Found Question

    Yes, nothing to worry about. More an internal issue (drop of connection, hadware reset, etc).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zeroconf

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    mrhoffh Guest

    Default Re: New Subnet Found Question

    thank you and thanks for the link.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: New Subnet Found Question

    You're welcome!!

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Subnet mask not working?
    By thorneven in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 7th, 2009, 07:04 PM
  2. Subnet adaptor conflict
    By scottyboy in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: September 3rd, 2007, 07:19 AM
  3. Adapter subnet missing?
    By iantresman in forum Common Program Settings
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 19th, 2006, 07:35 AM
  4. Which Zone to Add - Ip Address - Subnet
    By iamwilson in forum Common Program Settings
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 3rd, 2006, 01:13 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •