Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Constant new network and other issues

  1. #1
    snowlep Guest

    Default Constant new network and other issues

    Hi,

    I am just about to give up completely on ZA. I have used the Internet Security Suite for a number of years, I recently upgraded to the 91_507 latest version, had issues with constant disk activity and browser issues, chatted with tech support they told me to uninstall and go back to previous version. Now the problems have really started. I reinstalled the previous version yesterday on my work machine. Everything installed fine, kept getting constant finding new network alerts. My telnet client kept getting bombed and loses the connection on our local lan, very frustrating, never happened before and previous version used to work fine. So uninstalled again and did the clean uninstall, ran the clean utility rebooted and reinstalled the 91_008 version. Still get the constant new network found. Set the preference to not ask and automatically assign to internet zone, still get the pop up, every 1-3 minutes, still lose the telnet connection periodically. Nothing has changed on the computer, hardware wise or lan wise. It used to run but now since running the version with problems everything is hosed.

    The other really irritating issue, is that I have multiple licenses and every single computer has some issue that just should not be happening, even though they run similar setups. Some are just more annoying than others.

    Alan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,805

    Smile Re: Constant new network and other issues

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country, without All the Details,without the ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..

    How to Configure ZoneAlarm when it continues to detect new networks

    Answer
    Solution:

    To configure ZoneAlarm to automatically add a new network when detected so the pop-ups no longer occur,

    please perform the following steps.

    1) Open ZoneAlarm and click on the Firewall panel on the left.
    2) Click on the Main tab.
    3) Click on the Advanced button.
    4) Under the Network Settings, check either the Include networks in the
    Trusted Zone upon detection radio button or the Exclude networks in the
    Trusted Zone upon detection.
    5) Click OK.

    Notes

    You cannot remove or block an active network connection. As long as your subnet has already been detected, you should no longer receive network detection popup alerts.

    - Selecting Exclude networks from the Trusted Zone. Will always put new
    detected networks in the Internet (UNtrusted) Zone.
    - Selecting Include networks in the Trusted Zone. Will always put new
    detected networks in the Trusted Zone.

    http://server.iad.liveperson.net/hc/...09&action=view

    Please Post back here with your Progress Report
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,638

    Default Re: Constant new network and other issues

    Quote Originally Posted by snowlep View Post
    The other really irritating issue, is that I have multiple licenses and every single computer has some issue that just should not be happening, even though they run similar setups. Some are just more annoying than others. Alan
    Sorry, just users here. We have no means to troubleshoot your problem. The best is to keep informing and troubleshooting with the official support at ZA premesis and in case of continued failure file a refund request.

    Good luck.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    snowlep Guest

    Default Re: Constant new network and other issues

    Quote Originally Posted by GeorgeV View Post
    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country, without All the Details,without the ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..

    [B][U]How to Configure ZoneAlarm when it continues to detect new networks


    Please Post back here with your Progress Report

    As I thought I had mentioned, I had tried this and it is set to automatically set the new network to internet zone and it is set not to ask, but it does and it always does. The system is win xp, all the latest updates and service packs. Doing a clean uninstall apparantly does not do a "clean" uninstall as it still continues to not function as it used to do, so there must be some registry entry that is a problem. The most irritating part is it used to work, I installed the latest software revision, and had problems, which they are supposedly going to fix and going back is apparently the problem and it sounds like registry problems. The system itself has not changed, except for uninstalling ZA and reinstalling. Is there is anything else to try? Is there is a better clean uninstall that actuals cleans everything? I have tried the clean utility and that does not seem to do it. I do understand it is difficult to debug remotely but what do you want me to try. I have tried the chat, that ended with install the old version.

    Alan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,805

    Smile Re: Constant new network and other issues

    Quote Originally Posted by snowlep View Post
    Is there is anything else to try? Is there is a better clean uninstall that actuals cleans everything? I have tried the clean utility and that does not seem to do it. I do understand it is difficult to debug remotely but what do you want me to try. I have tried the chat, that ended with install the old version.

    Alan

    Try this:

    This applies to

    All ZoneAlarm products
    Windows 2000/XP


    Summary

    I need to completely remove ZoneAlarm, or there are remnants of
    ZoneAlarm on my system

    Solution

    If possible, first try to uninstall ZoneAlarm normally from your Start ->
    Programs -> ZoneAlarm menu. If this fails, or you want to ensure that all
    ZoneAlarm files were removed from the system properly, continue with the steps below.

    Please make sure that you have the latest version downloaded first:

    http://www.zonealarm.com/trial


    01.) Restart your computer
    02.) When you see the screen go black and it starts booting back up keep
    tapping the "F8" key (at the top of your keyboard)
    03.) This should bring up a menu. Choose Safe Mode off the menu by
    using the arrow keys on the keyboard to highlight Safe Mode and press
    Enter
    04.) If you get a message asking to go to Safe Mode, choose Yes. If you
    get a help and support window, close this.
    05.) Once you are at the desktop, Click Start, My Computer
    06.) Click Tools, Folder Options, View Tab
    07.) Place a dot next to "Show Hidden Files and Folders"
    08.) Remove the check from "Hide Protected Operating System Files
    (Recommended)"
    09.) Choose Yes to the warning
    10.) Click OK
    11.) Double click C:

    Note: In the future steps if you do not see any files or folders, please click
    the "Show Files" link to view them.

    12.) Double Click the Program Files Folder
    13.) Right Click the Zone Labs Folder (if present), click Delete, and choose
    Yes

    NOTE: If you cannot delete the entire folder, please open the Zone Labs -
    > ZoneAlarm folder and delete out as many of the files listed here as
    possible.

    14.) Close this window
    15.) Click Start, My Computer
    16.) Double Click the C:
    17.) Double Click the Windows Folder (It may also be WinNT)
    18.) Right Click the Internet Logs Folder, click Delete, and choose Yes
    19.) Double Click the System32 Folder
    20.) Right Click the Zone Labs Folder (if present), click Delete, and choose
    Yes

    NOTE: If you cannot delete the entire folder, please open the Zone Labs
    folder and delete out as many of the files listed here as possible.

    21.) Locate and delete the following files in the System32 folder if they are
    present:

    - vsconfig.xml
    - vsxml.dll
    - vsregexp.dll
    - vsdata.dll
    - vsdata95.vxd
    - vsdatant.sys
    - vsmonapi.dll
    - vspubapi.dll
    - vsinit.dll
    - vsutil.dll
    - vswmi.dll
    - zlcommdb.dll
    - zlcomm.dll
    - zllictbl.dat
    - zpeng24.dll

    22.) Clear your Temp Directory per the instructions below.

    - Go to Start -> Run
    - Type %temp% and click OK
    - Select all of these files and delete them

    23.) Clear the Prefetch folder per the instructions below (Windows XP only).

    - Go to Start -> Run
    - Type Prefetch and click OK
    - Select all of these files and delete them

    24.) Remove the necessary registry entries:

    *Important Advisory: Deleting registry entries incorrectly may cause
    serious problems to your operating system, which may necessitate the
    need to reinstall it. Please make sure you are able to perform these
    deletions correctly before you decide to edit the entries. If you are not
    sure, you should seek help from someone who is familiar with editing the
    registry.

    For information about how to edit the registry in Windows, from your
    desktop, click Start -> Run -> and type regedit. Click on Help -> Help
    Topics. Under the Contents tab, click Change Keys and Values (this may
    be found under the How to... section).

    Also, you should always make a backup of the registry before editing it.
    You can find this in the same section of the Help files.


    To remove the needed registry entries, go to Start -> Run and type in
    regedit. Choose OK, and use the folders on the left side of the Registry
    Editor window to navigate to the specified directories below. Note that you
    will remove the entire folder specified (eg, Zone Labs, vsmon, vsdatant):

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Zone Labs
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\vsmon
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\vsdatant


    25.) Close this window, then empty your recycle bin.
    26.) Restart the computer.
    27.) Try to install the latest version again
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,638

    Default Re: Constant new network and other issues

    Quote Originally Posted by snowlep View Post
    I have tried the chat, that ended with install the old version. Alan
    You need to keep reporting to support as originally suggested. This is the best approach since we have no means here (as users) to troubleshoot your PC remotely apart from suggesting common fixes.

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    snowlep Guest

    Default Re: Constant new network and other issues

    Thanks I will try all this and report to customer service.

    Alan

  8. #8
    Hankenstien Guest

    Thumbs down Re: Constant new network and other issues

    I have the same problem on my PC (windows 7 64bit) and it has started to happen on my mom's PC (XP with media center) in New York. My Mom is 80 years old. There is no way I can walk her through these procedures. If I have to fly to New York to fix her computer, then it is time to find a new firewall. I have 6 licenses and have used zone alarm for years. It sounds like zone alarm may lose a lot of customers for this bug.

    I have reset the defaults, uninstalled and re-installed, created zones for all 192.168 devices, unchecked block local servers, and set all networks to go to trusted. Nothing works. I still get new network found for 192.168.1.0 every few minutes and zone alarm forgets all the zones I created and all the settings every couple of days.

    This seems to be happening to a lot of people and it makes zone alarm unusable.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,805

    Default Re: Constant new network and other issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Hankenstien View Post
    I have the same problem on my PC (windows 7 64bit) and it has started to happen on my mom's PC (XP with media center) in New York. My Mom is 80 years old. There is no way I can walk her through these procedures. If I have to fly to New York to fix her computer, then it is time to find a new firewall. I have 6 licenses and have used zone alarm for years. It sounds like zone alarm may lose a lot of customers for this bug.

    I have reset the defaults, uninstalled and re-installed, created zones for all 192.168 devices, unchecked block local servers, and set all networks to go to trusted. Nothing works. I still get new network found for 192.168.1.0 every few minutes and zone alarm forgets all the zones I created and all the settings every couple of days.

    This seems to be happening to a lot of people and it makes zone alarm unusable.

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country, without All the Details,without the ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..

    How to Configure ZoneAlarm when it continues to detect new networks

    Answer
    Solution:

    To configure ZoneAlarm to automatically add a new network when detected so the pop-ups no longer occur,

    please perform the following steps.

    1) Open ZoneAlarm and click on the Firewall panel on the left.
    2) Click on the Main tab.
    3) Click on the Advanced button.
    4) Under the Network Settings, check either the Include networks in the
    Trusted Zone upon detection radio button or the Exclude networks in the
    Trusted Zone upon detection.
    5) Click OK.

    Notes

    You cannot remove or block an active network connection. As long as your subnet has already been detected, you should no longer receive network detection popup alerts.

    - Selecting Exclude networks from the Trusted Zone. Will always put new
    detected networks in the Internet (UNtrusted) Zone.
    - Selecting Include networks in the Trusted Zone. Will always put new
    detected networks in the Trusted Zone.

    http://server.iad.liveperson.net/hc/...09&action=view

    As a User of the Paid product, you can Contact ZA Tech Support Live Chat directly (Free of Charge) (they are Closed on Weekends)
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Network issues
    By Metia in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 24th, 2009, 08:23 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 30th, 2008, 03:18 PM
  3. Network lag issues
    By zianno in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 9th, 2008, 09:12 AM
  4. Constant "New Network" & Vigor 2800
    By speedykat in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 18th, 2006, 10:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •