Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ZoneAlarm is not blocking access?

  1. #1
    Ugly Yami Guest

    Default ZoneAlarm is not blocking access?

    This just started today... Or at least I noticed it today. ZoneAlarm is not blocking access to the Internet. Normally it asks me when I attempt to connect if I want to allow the connection. It no longer does this and automatically lets me online. I made sure I was up to date(which I am) and even went as far as blocking all applications in the Programs selection and it still connects. ANY IDEAS?

    On another note, I noticed in the program section allot of programs are listed multiple times. I.G. GoogleToolbarInstaller was listed 95 times. I'm Lost.

    P.S. If I use the "Stop all internet activity" it does block access.
    Last edited by Ugly Yami; May 12th, 2010 at 10:38 AM.

  2. #2
    Ugly Yami Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm is not blocking access?

    Update: Uninstalled ZoneAlarm and then Reinstalled.

    The Good - Less programs are listed in the program section.

    The Bad - It still doesn't appear to be blocking internet access. Everything is set to ask for approval except the core system programs. Yet it still connects using IE8.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm is not blocking access?

    Hi!
    if you don't post the details of your version, OS, past version used... we really have no clue on the possible cause...

    An educated guess could point to:

    1. This is usually caused by 9.1free whitelisting microsoft software. Workaround --> install latest beta or old version.
    2. In retail versions you need to UNcheck "Enable Microsoft Catalog Utilization". Reboot.

    For both points search the board, it has been posted many times before.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    Ugly Yami Guest

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm is not blocking access?

    OS - XP SP3
    ZA version 9.1.007.002

    Not sure what my previous version was but I wish I hadn't updated.

    I will try the beta version and see if that fixes it.

    I appreciate the reply.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZoneAlarm is not blocking access?

    You're welcome!

    New beta version should have fixed the problem since its a known bug. I am not using the free 9.2 so I can't help you on the specific setting you need to apply.

    Sorry,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZoneAlarm Blocking Access to TinyURL
    By edrcpa in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: October 24th, 2009, 03:34 PM
  2. Zonealarm trying to access router, blocking webpage access
    By crashtest in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 9th, 2007, 10:31 AM
  3. zonealarm blocking web access
    By gza in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 9th, 2007, 01:57 PM
  4. ZoneAlarm blocking access to the NET
    By grandpop in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 1st, 2007, 09:00 PM
  5. Zonealarm blocking access since getting VOIP
    By walloffire in forum Common Program Settings
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 17th, 2006, 11:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •