Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: can't access zonalarm

  1. #1
    tellerd Guest

    Default can't access zonalarm

    Hello,

    I have zonealarm version 8.0.298.000 on my computer and it works ok. However, when I try to access zonealarm (for example, to change settings or at least view them) by pressing "restore zonealarm control center" I get only a blank screen with the title "zonealarm". What can I do?

    Thanks,

    Danit

  2. #2
    garywa Guest

    Default Re: can't access zonalarm

    First of all, you have a very old version of ZA (you didn't say which ZA product you have installed). You should really install the current version.

    This problem has been discussed before. Read here for example: http://forums.zonealarm.com/showthread.php?t=73805

    Sometimes a reinstall is the only solution.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: can't access zonalarm

    Quote Originally Posted by tellerd View Post
    Hello,

    I have zonealarm version 8.0.298.000 on my computer and it works ok. However, when I try to access zonealarm (for example, to change settings or at least view them) by pressing "restore zonealarm control center" I get only a blank screen with the title "zonealarm". What can I do?

    Thanks,

    Danit
    Welcome to the Zone Alarm User Forum..

    This Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with ZoneAlarm and need to be guided in the right direction..

    Whenever posting here- or Contacting ZA Tech Support, it is always advisable to list your:Windows OS (XP SP 2-3 / Vista SP1-2 / Windows 7 32-Bit/64-Bit), your ZoneAlarm product Type (Free,Pro,AV, Suite,Extreme) and ZA version number (7.0,8.0,9.0,9.1), Brand of Computer and CPU, is it a DeskTop or Laptop, List any other Security Programs installed.


    **** NOTICE: ****

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country, without All the Details,without the ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..


    1.) You do not tell us what Type of zonealarm version 8.0.298.000 your talking about? FREE Basic version, ZA AV, ZA Pro, ZA Suite, ZA Extreme?

    Also, Version 8.0.298.000 is Very old and no longer supported, the Current Supported version is 9.1.507.000

    2.) What Version and Update of Windows?

    3.) Brand of Laptop of Desktop?

    4.) based on the Limited information you gave, it could be one of several causes,

    Corrupted ZA Config Database
    Bad Install of Zone Alarm,
    Other 3rd party Security Software Blocking or Conflicting wwith Zone Alarm
    Malware , Virus infection?

    ZA has incorparated a new way to Reset DataBase files so users don't need to go into Safe mode.


    To repair this problem, please follow the steps below. Please note that
    this will remove your program permission settings (so you may want to make
    note of them), but re-establishing them is a simple process.

    1.) Hold down the Ctrl and Shift keys together
    2.) Right click on the ZA icon near your clock in the system tray lower right corner
    3.) Choose 'Reset' from the box that comes up
    4.) Choose Yes on the Reset Settings dialog box
    5.) When prompted, choose OK to restart your system
    6.) Follow the on screen configuration prompts after reboot
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. firefox and zonalarm
    By samlar in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: December 16th, 2008, 08:17 AM
  2. Lenovo security chip vs Zonalarm issue
    By albemarle in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: November 20th, 2008, 09:02 PM
  3. What is the differences between zonalarm v5.5 VS v6 VS v7
    By mulder in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2007, 01:57 PM
  4. firefox and zonalarm
    By oldsod in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 12th, 2007, 12:51 PM
  5. Zonalarm CPU hogging when OE loads
    By sdhuk in forum Anti-spam & Parental Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 25th, 2006, 12:25 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •