Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 32

Thread: [Solved] Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

  1. #11
    karmavore Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

    Quote Originally Posted by ncudmore View Post
    Lucus, I can only get it working if I "Shutdown Zone Alarm Security Suite" before even attempting to load the Cisco Client.
    I tried this. Twice. No luck. But thanks a million for the idea, Neil.

    Also, I'm configured for UDP.

    Lucas.

  2. #12
    karmavore Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

    Thanks Moderator, but that's not very helpful.

    I could understand the need for tweaking if I wanted to run a tight firewall, but with ZA SHUTDOWN you can't tell me there's a configuration issue. It must be some fundamental conflict which hasn't been seen before and which isn't addressed in your QA cycle.

    I'm sure you can imagine what would happen if I brought my personal laptop to our IT department and told them Cisco VPN only runs when ZA is uninstalled. They'll say: "well, uninstall it."

    Lucas.

  3. #13
    karmavore Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

    Quote Originally Posted by Forum-Moderator View Post
    the I.T. professionals from the company that setup the VPN to troubleshoot the issue on the PC.
    Could you give one, just one, such example? I'd like to know what my IT dept is expected to analyze?

    You have to understand it will be nigh on impossible to convince them ZA is not at fault when it is the only variable keeping me from using the VPN.

    PS, I'd be happy to send you my PCF file to see if there are known issues with it's configuration.

  4. #14
    ncudmore Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

    Quote Originally Posted by Forum-Moderator View Post
    Ok VPN configuration is very tricky. It not just install it and go for ZA.

    What you need to do (in both cases) is take your PC with the VPN and ZA installed into your place of work and have your I.T. dept configure ZA properly to work with your VPN.

    We tested the Cisco VPN solution on ZA before every release during our regular QA cycle and there were not problems.

    Every VPN is setup differently and many times you can install ZA and we just work fine out of the box but other times due to how the VPN was setup and deployed at the individual work place it requires to be troubleshooted and configured by the I.T. professionals who setup the VPN.


    Forum Moderator
    Sorry I agree with Lucus, this isn't very helpful since I am in the IT department who set up the VPN....

    ~~snip~~

    The client log file just isn't throwing anything useful up, and watching the firewall shows the packets are not hitting the firewall but getting discarded at the client end by the VPN client.

    I'm putting in a change request at work to get a secondary route on the VPN (via another site) to use IPSEC over TCP in place of the existing UDP connection. Once up, this may shine some more light on the issue...
    Last edited by fax; June 2nd, 2010 at 12:29 AM. Reason: offtopic - please stick to the issue. Thanks.

  5. #15
    GreyWolfRP Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

    Here's a me too, but with some detailed info.

    System Dell Optiplex GX780
    1GB RAM
    Intel Core2 Duo CPU 2.93 GHZ
    Vista Home Premium 64 bit

    Cisco VPN Client 5.0.07.0290

    Zone Alarm Free 9.2.044.000

    Without Zone Alarm installed and windows firewall on.

    The VPN client connects and is able to access workplace resources, via UDP or TCP connection.



    With Zone Alarm installed -
    Allow uncommon protocols at high security - checked
    Program Control set to full allow for both Trusted and Internet Access, and Trusted and Internet Server.
    Trusted Zone entries for the IP address of the VPN device, and two of the internal subnets.

    VPN connection over TCP - will not connect, Cisco reason 414

    VPN connection over UDP - connects, but unable to reach workplace resources, all packets either bypass the client, or are discarded.

    I am the VPN unit administrator, I have set up several of these connections with Zone Alarm Free in the past. I have never run into a situation where even establishing the trusts in ZA prevents the VPN client from encapsulating the traffic.


    Suggestions, tips, pointers appreciated

  6. #16
    mtSunk Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

    I'm also having the same problems with Cisco VPN and ZoneAlarm.

    Details:

    I can log into VPN, but any of the IPs that should be available to me once logged on are not accessible. I also can't ping them.

    I'm using:

    Windows 7
    Cisco VPN Client 5.0.03.0560
    ZoneAlarm free edition (latest version as of today)

    I also can't access anything via the VPN unless I completely uninstall ZoneAlarm. I've tried toying with the settings (allowing certain IPs and ranges, etc) but no luck.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,641

    Exclamation Re: Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

    If your using the Cisco VPN perform the following to capture complete logs

    For Free ZA 9.2.044.000 and paid products running version 9.1.507.000

    DO NOT SUBMIT LOGS FOR VERSIONS LOWER THAN THOSE. THEY WILL NOT BE USED IF YOU DO.

    Enable full logging.
    Start > All Programs > ZoneAlarm
    Select the ZoneAlarm Diagnostics Tool program.

    Once tool is running check ALL the boxes in the LOGGING section only
    DO NOT make any other changes.
    Now click OK
    You will be told you need to restart your PC.

    Shut down and reboot your PC

    After you PC is rebooted then go ahead and attempt to make a VPN connection and try to access what doe snot work for you.

    Once it has failed, open the Diagnostics Tool again.

    Now click the Upload Data button
    Enter your email address in the email field.
    Enter the following text in the Case Number field: CISCOVPN

    Click the OK button.

    Now depending how large the logs are and the speed of your system and internet connection it will now compress all your logs into a CAB file and upload them to our server. Once you get a successful message after the upload reply back here to let me know.


    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #18
    karmavore Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

    Done and uploaded. Thank you!

  9. #19
    GreyWolfRP Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

    Done and Uploaded

  10. #20
    mtSunk Guest

    Default Re: Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.

    Quote Originally Posted by karmavore View Post
    Done and uploaded. Thank you!
    Mine is also uploaded. Thanks.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Zone Alarm and Cisco VPN difficulty.
    By dieseldave in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 28th, 2009, 05:33 AM
  2. Zone Alarm With Cisco VPN Client Not Working - Freezes
    By ericgoldy in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 16th, 2008, 01:00 AM
  3. Cisco VPN Client Won't Work After Installing Zone Alarm Firewall
    By mikegg in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 1st, 2006, 03:45 PM
  4. Zone Labs Pro with Cisco VPN
    By nasman in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 25th, 2006, 06:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •