Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [SOLVED] Restart Loop

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    c162910 Guest

    Default [SOLVED] Restart Loop

    My laptop is running Windows XP. I "upgraded" from ZA Free 7.? to ZA Free 9.2 and ever since my initial restart, I get a black box open up for something called cpes_clean_launcher.exe with a blinking cursor after a c prompt.

    Along with that an error box opens the says "Check Point Endpoint Security Removal" "A restart is required to complete the removal of Endpoint Security". "Click OK to restart now", which I did initially and just got into a loop where it happens every time I restart now no matter what I do.

    The laptop is configured to automatically connect to my wireless connection and all I usually have to do to access the Internet is open a browser. BUT NOW the strange thing is that I can no longer access the internet and a DIAL UP Connection log in box pops up...Never saw this before. hmmm?

    The same Dial Up box now also pops up on my desktop, which occurred after AT&T tech support "helped me" try to configure my home network so I'm sure that has something to do with that and probably nothing to do with ZA Free but it's just strange.

    So, I logged in a Administrator and noticed that ZA Free 7.? still shows up in Add/Remove Programs but when I try to uninstall it, I'm denied because it says I don't have access and to please see administrator. I tried system restore but does not work either "Restoration Incomplete".

    Any ideas or info is appreciated.
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: Restart Loop

    Weird, probably you had installed Check Point Endpoint Security on the system?

    Try to remove ZA with the ZA removal tool.

    You find the ZA removal tool here:
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...cpes_clean.exe

    BE SURE TO BE LOGGED AS ADMINITRATOR

    If the above fails remove ZA manually, see below:
    I cannot find or run the ZoneAlarm uninstall program (XP/2000)

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; May 28th, 2010 at 09:29 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: Restart Loop

    CPES_Clean is not for Check point endpoint products. It only for ZoneAlarm.

    May or may not cause problems for your endpoint install if ran.


    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    c162910 Guest

    Default Re: Restart Loop

    I'd never heard of and don't believe I ever knowingly installed Check Point Endpoint Security on the system. I got the laptop second hand but have had it over 2 yr.

    With that said I'm really not sure what to do still.

    Anyone???

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: Restart Loop

    Well there no telling what was installed on this pc before you got it.

    there could be remnants of any number of security applications that might be causing this issue.

    I'm afraid to say the best and quickest way to get the system back to a working machine and to know all other issues are gone would be to format the hard drive and reinstall the OS and all MS updates fresh.

    Hopefully you got as OS install cd and key with your system when you bought it. If you don't then don't format the drive.


    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    c162910 Guest

    Default Re: Restart Loop

    FYI...I was able to complete a system restore by restarting in Safe Mode by pressing F8 during system start up...before the WinXP logo shows. Then executed system restore from command line by clicking Start > Run & typing "CMD" then at the C Prompt, typing
    C:\windows\system32\restore\rstrui.exe
    and Enter

    This got me out of the loop and I was able to access the Internet...At least initially. Now, the strange thing is I keep losing the connection and keep getting either a blank page that loads but it says "Done" in bottom left corner or I get a "Server Not Found", "Connection Timed Out" or offline mode error that tells me "To go online, uncheck Work Offline from the File menu". All the while, the Wireless Network Connection says it's "Connected".

    Any ideas?

  7. #7
    c162910 Guest

    Default Re: Restart Loop

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    ...If the above fails remove ZA manually, see below:
    I cannot find or run the ZoneAlarm uninstall program (XP/2000)

    Cheers,
    Fax
    That worked...THANK YOU!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,289

    Default Re: Restart Loop

    You're welcome

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZoneAlarm installer in never-ending loop
    By sborman in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 29th, 2010, 10:07 PM
  2. Zone Alarm stuck in loop
    By yisrael in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 18th, 2009, 05:02 AM
  3. Endless loop login
    By shiro_ookami in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 18th, 2009, 10:55 AM
  4. 7.0.462 Going into a scan loop at startup
    By dawsonjw in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 15th, 2007, 09:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •