Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Using ZA free firewall with Norton ecurity Suite

  1. #1
    Dyno Don Guest

    Question Using ZA free firewall with Norton ecurity Suite

    Hello,
    Just joined. Have used ZA firewall for years. I love the control it gives me. Was forced by Comcast to use Norton Security Suite. ~~snip~~ When I attempted to install Norton it made me remove ZA firewall. I installed Norton and then attempted to reinstall ZA (an older version). The result was that I could not boot again in WinXP Pro (normal boot). I was able to boot in safe mode to remove ZA and I was then able to reboot.
    It there a way to put the fabulous ZA free firewall in front of Norton Security Suite? What version of the firewall do I need?

    Thanks to all,
    D
    Last edited by fax; June 4th, 2010 at 07:33 AM. Reason: product disparage

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,466

    Default Re: Using ZA free firewall with Norton ecurity Suite

    Quote Originally Posted by Dyno Don View Post
    Hello,
    Just joined. Have used ZA firewall for years. I love the control it gives me. Was forced by Comcast to use Norton Security Suite. The firewall is horrible! When I attempted to install Norton it made me remove ZA firewall. I installed Norton and then attempted to reinstall ZA (an older version). The result was that I could not boot again in WinXP Pro (normal boot). I was able to boot in safe mode to remove ZA and I was then able to reboot.
    It there a way to put the fabulous ZA free firewall in front of Norton Security Suite? What version of the firewall do I need?

    Thanks to all,
    D

    I'm Sorry, that is not Possible..
    Both programs contain and install their own Firewall that will conflict and Block each other..

    Here is the Cardinal RULE in Security Protection:

    Just One, Not Two -- Never use two software Firewalls at the same time. Completely uninstall one before installing another. Use the vendor's uninstall utility or if not available, use Windows Add/Remove..
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Just One, Not Two -- Never use two anti-virus products at the same time. Completely uninstall one before installing another. Use the vendor's uninstall utility or if not available, use Windows ADD/Remove..
    --------------------------------------------------------
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Dyno Don Guest

    Default Re: Using ZA free firewall with Norton ecurity Suite

    I did notice that the Norton product allowed me to disable to fire wall. Does that make a difference ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,466

    Default Re: Using ZA free firewall with Norton ecurity Suite

    Quote Originally Posted by Dyno Don View Post
    I did notice that the Norton product allowed me to disable to fire wall. Does that make a difference ?
    Unfortunately NO!..

    As long as Both are "Installed" they are Loaded into Memory in the Background and will still Detect each other whether they are disabled or not..

    Infact most Firewalls, connect to the Windows "NTKERNAL" and Both Firewall will conflict with each other because the both try to conect to the Same spot on the Windows "NTkernal" so Both can not be installed at the same time..

    Sorry, You must choose one or the other..
    If you like the Look of Zone Alarm, I would Recomend Za Suite or ZA Extreme.. You can Try one of the paid versions for 30 days for Free, but you must Uninstall Norton Suite.. Or Delete Zone Alarm and Stay with the Norton Suite your ISP gave you..
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Lewy Guest

    Default Re: Using ZA free firewall with Norton ecurity Suite

    Hi,I don't agree with this. I run Norton Internet Security and ZA Pro together. When installing Norton it says you need to unistall ZA but if you ignore it, there's a link that allows you to continue without uninstalling and it builds fine.Lewy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: Using ZA free firewall with Norton ecurity Suite

    You can disable parts of a security tool but still having kernel hook and/or services loaded at boot. This unfortunately happens in most security tools nowadays. It may seem to work fine but the conflicts are behind the scene and consequences unpredictable. Piling up security tools if not done correctly can actually decrease your security rather than improving it

    Just move to a solution that does not have the firewall portion or give up on firewall and use the suite instead.

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,466

    Default Re: Using ZA free firewall with Norton ecurity Suite

    Quote Originally Posted by Lewy View Post
    Hi,I don't agree with this. I run Norton Internet Security and ZA Pro together. When installing Norton it says you need to unistall ZA but if you ignore it, there's a link that allows you to continue without uninstalling and it builds fine.Lewy.

    Your Both Wrong..

    I agree with Guru Fax..

    All of the versions of Zone Alarm have a Builtin Firewall
    and Will Detect any other Firewall installed, a
    and by Design will ONLY Co-Exist with the Windows Firewall that is Turned OFF when Zone Alarm is Installed, But will Not CO-EXIST with any other Firewall..

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Just One, Not Two -- Never use two software Firewalls at the same time. Completely uninstall one before installing another. Use the vendor's uninstall utility or if not available, Use Windows ADD/Remove utility.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Just One, Not Two -- Never use two Anti-virus products at the same time. Completely uninstall one before installing another. Use the vendor's uninstall utility or if not available, Use Windows ADD/Remove utility.
    --------------------------------------------------------
    Last edited by GeorgeV; July 16th, 2010 at 01:37 PM. Reason: typo
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Free ZA Firewall & Norton AV 2010
    By radar21 in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 7th, 2010, 07:12 AM
  2. Re: Norton Antivirus 2008 Advanced Firewall option shows AT RISK after KB951748 and ZA Free 7.0.483
    By soltek in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 4th, 2009, 11:57 PM
  3. Norton Antivirus 2008 Advanced Firewall option shows AT RISK after KB951748 and ZA Free 7.0.483
    By df03438 in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 18th, 2008, 03:09 AM
  4. Free Firewall and Internet Security Suite
    By generice in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 7th, 2008, 03:48 PM
  5. Would like to discontinue using Norton Antivirus and Norton Firewall
    By nich in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 19th, 2007, 11:37 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •