Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ZA Free 9.2 and Port 135

  1. #1
    John Butcher Guest

    Default ZA Free 9.2 and Port 135

    This is my first ever post here; this topic has come up before but not, as far as I can find, the specific point that concerns me.

    When I installed ZA Free 9.2 and went to GRC to check port status, I, like several other members, found that Port 135 was now open. Symantec reported likewise. It's been suggested that the way around this is to forbid svchost from acting as a server, but (i) this didn't work for me, (ii), it's never been necessary before and (iii) ZA specifically warns against doing this.

    On reverting to ZA Free 9.1 there is no problem; nor was there a problem in using the Windows Firewall (SP3) between reinstallations. So why exactly is Port 135 showing as open under ZA 9.2 when it was not under ZA 9.1?

    I am impressed by ZA 9.2 and would like to use it, but I won't feel safe about moving up from 9.1 until I can be sure that this open port isn't a problem.

    Any advice or suggestions would be received most gratefully.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZA Free 9.2 and Port 135

    If you do not want to tune up ZA then you can disable DCOM in XP. Many link on the net, for example, here.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    John Butcher Guest

    Default Re: ZA Free 9.2 and Port 135

    Thank you very much for your reply. However, I used the DCombobulator from GRC a long time ago to fix this - and it was fixed in ZA 9.1. I don't understand why port 135 is open is ZA 9.2 now.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZA Free 9.2 and Port 135

    No idea, sorry...

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    John Butcher Guest

    Default Re: ZA Free 9.2 and Port 135

    I've had a second thought. Could the new version be registering the fact that svchost.exe is 'meant' to listen to port 135 - in which case there is no problem?

    Sorry to dwell on this. I would like to upgrade to 9.2 but don't feel confident until this issue is resolved.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: ZA Free 9.2 and Port 135

    I don't really know, may someone else could input into your question.

    Sorry,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    John Butcher Guest

    Default Re: ZA Free 9.2 and Port 135

    Hello Fax,

    I have now tried the new version 9.2.057.000 and there is no longer a problem with port 135. I have no idea still what was going on but it looks like I can rest easy now. Thank you very much for your advice - I hope this might all be useful to others.

    John.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How to close port 135 ?
    By TheWall92 in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 14th, 2009, 05:27 AM
  2. Blocking port 135
    By whb in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 25th, 2008, 05:37 AM
  3. port 135
    By alexor in forum Security Issues
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: January 26th, 2008, 12:59 PM
  4. How do I close Port 135
    By cyberlee in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 6th, 2008, 04:57 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •