Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Can't open multiple Firefox windows with ZoneAlarm Toolbar enabled

  1. #1
    GryphonSDragoon Guest

    Default Can't open multiple Firefox windows with ZoneAlarm Toolbar enabled

    My searching turned up a lot of people with this problem, and it seems that the standard answers are that it was fixed in version x or its your Add-Ons.

    I'm running Firefox 3.6.6 and just installed ZoneAlarm Anti-Virus 9.1.507.000. My Firefox Add-Ons are: Java Console 6.0.7, 6.0.13, 6.0.15, 6.0.17, 6.0.20; Microsoft.NET Framework Assistant 1.1; XUL Runner 1.9.1; and ZoneAlarm Toolbar 1.5.149.0.

    If I disable ZoneAlarm toolbar then I can open multiple Firefox windows. If I enable it, I cannot.

    Seems to me that the problem hasn't been fixed, and if my set of Add-Ons is causing a problem, then there seems to be something fundamentally wrong with the ZoneAlarm Toolbar for Firefox.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,465

    Default Re: Can't open multiple Firefox windows with ZoneAlarm Toolbar enabled

    Try this link..

    http://forum.zonealarm.com/showthrea...625#post280625

    Also, Here is a Link to a Newer version of ZA Anti-Virus,

    as well as a list of all the Fixes to ZAAV..

    ZoneAlarm Antivirus updates
    Last edited by GeorgeV; June 30th, 2010 at 04:48 AM. Reason: update

  3. #3
    GryphonSDragoon Guest

    Default Re: Can't open multiple Firefox windows with ZoneAlarm Toolbar enabled

    First thing I did after installing ZoneAlarm was to run a Super Scan with the ignore larger than 8MB option turned off. It hung at 99%. C: = 1.4 TB two disk RAID 0, S: 24 GB swap partition sharing drive with R: 670 GB, U: 700 GB. I then performed Super Scans of each individual drive one at a time error free. The malware found was mostly in my current and archived junk mail and trash mail folders. Nothing of significance found, except remnants of a Trojan that I had already removed by hand.

    I installed the latest ZA AV 9.1.603.000. This step is a bit annoying, as I had twice already told ZA to update itself!

    I did a clean install of Firefox, and even tried a new profile just because you asked. No change.

    Behavior is still the same. ZA Toolbar enabled = can't open second window. ZA Toolbar disabled = can open multiple windows.

    Note: With this new version of ZA intsalled, when I exit Firefox, I can't restart it, because it leaves the process running in the background. I have to end the process with Task Manager in order to restart Firefox. With the ZA Toolbar disabled, Firefox exits properly.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: August 30th, 2010, 03:48 PM
  2. firefox java error with anti-phishing enabled
    By vicdaz in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: August 23rd, 2010, 05:12 PM
  3. ZoneAlarm Toolbar AddOn in Firefox 3.6.2
    By mikegrieff in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: April 17th, 2010, 01:20 PM
  4. IE7 (IE8?) does not open when virtualization is enabled. This fixes it for me.
    By keephoping in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: January 24th, 2010, 07:00 PM
  5. Can't open multiple browser windows/tabs
    By ghostofunder in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2007, 02:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •