Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cannot connect via VPN

  1. #1
    ninhalo5 Guest

    Default Cannot connect via VPN

    Hi, I just installed the trial version of ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version:9.1.008.000

    Now I'm having an issue of connecting to my work server's VPN.

    The VPN is working correctly as I shut down the ZoneAlarm I can log in and through my laptop I can log in. as soon as I start ZoneAlarm back up while logged in it will kill my connection.

    I'm running Windoze Vista on the computer I'm having issues with.
    Anyone have an idea on what to do?

    Oh If I recall correctly I was connected after installing and a screen came up asking me about another server found and to name that server which I did and then it kicked me off, perhaps I did something wrong there but now I cannot find anything relating to that in the program itself.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,464

    Default Re: Cannot connect via VPN

    Quote Originally Posted by ninhalo5 View Post
    Hi, I just installed the trial version of ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version:9.1.008.000

    Now I'm having an issue of connecting to my work server's VPN.

    The VPN is working correctly as I shut down the ZoneAlarm I can log in and through my laptop I can log in. as soon as I start ZoneAlarm back up while logged in it will kill my connection.

    I'm running Windoze Vista on the computer I'm having issues with.
    Anyone have an idea on what to do?

    Oh If I recall correctly I was connected after installing and a screen came up asking me about another server found and to name that server which I did and then it kicked me off, perhaps I did something wrong there but now I cannot find anything relating to that in the program itself.

    Thank you
    Welcome to the Zone Alarm User Forum..

    This Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with ZoneAlarm and need to be guided in the right direction..

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country, without All the Details,without the ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..


    I have VPN connecting OK for me with ZA Extreme Security 9.1.008.000 on Vista Ultimate SP2... also on the ** NEW ** ZA Extreme Security 9.1.603.000

    NOTE: I have a few questions on info you did not provide?

    1.) what Browser are you using? IE8 or FireFox (3.5 /3.6) ?
    if FireFox is the (Proxy enabled) if so uncheck the Proxy enabled in FireFox..

    2.) Click on ZA Extreme FIREWALL / Advanced Settings
    Halfway down the page in "General Settings on Top Right"

    Make sure "Allow VPN Protocols" is Checked
    also "Disable Windows Firewall" should be checked

    3.) here is the Link to the Newest version of ZA Extreme Security 9.1.603.000

    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security updates

    Click on the (Global Sites) Tab on the Top Right side to Select ZA Prpducts in other Languages..

    2.) Before you Uninstall your current ZA, UNcheck "Load ZA... at startup" (under Overview - Preferences tab)

    3.) Reboot the Computer. So that vsmon.exe/TrueVector will be removed from Memory

    4.) Now use the new ZoneAlarm Removal Tool: Click here http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...cpes_clean.exe

    Save to desktop, right click and "run as administrator" This tool will remove all ZoneAlarm products from your system.

    Please just download and run the tool, following the instructions. (you can un-install without net connections)

    5.) Now Install the new update (clean) and Accept the default Setting, Auto-Learn Mode and Choose Trusted Zone, not Internet Zone..

    *** NOTICE: Please note that ZAAV, ZASS and ZAXS do not play nice with many overlapping security tools (even if disabled).

    To troubleshoot ZAAV, ZASS/ZAXS issues removethe other Security programs and (if you can't live without the other Security programs - Not Recomended) - Only re-install them once you see that ZA works as it should.

    *** For example, the Following programs may not work well with ZoneAlarm, Kaspersky (KAV) or (KISS),Norton/Symantec, McAfee,AVG, Spysweeper, NOD32, Spyware Doctor, trojan hunter, adware, SpyBotSearch & Destroy, PC tools Threat Fire, any other Anti-virus program, some Anti-spyware programs, Registry Guard or Registry locking tools, etc...
    Last edited by GeorgeV; July 2nd, 2010 at 11:49 AM. Reason: typo
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    ninhalo5 Guest

    Default Re: Cannot connect via VPN

    Hi George, Thank you for the reply.
    I have not got around to your suggestions yet but will do so in the AM.
    I just wanted to respond to the first 2 of your points in case I need to do something further tomorrow.
    1.) what Browser are you using? IE8 or FireFox (3.5 /3.6) ?
    if FireFox is the (Proxy enabled) if so uncheck the Proxy enabled in FireFox..

    None for the VPN access. I'm actually using a Juniper network' network connect.
    For browsing I use them all pretty much, Safari for certain things, opera, firefox, IE7, and chrome.

    2.) Click on ZA Extreme FIREWALL / Advanced Settings
    Halfway down the page in "General Settings on Top Right"

    Make sure "Allow VPN Protocols" is Checked
    also "Disable Windows Firewall" should be checked

    The version I'm using currently does not appear to have that option.


    I'll try the update tomorrow morning and see what that does for me. I'll probably end up upgrading if I can get this VPN issue resolved. Norton 360 did not have any issues with the VPN but I think I like this software better. and it is most definitely better than the McAfee junk my work provided me with, which couldn't fight a virus with a bottle of vitamins and a dose of antibiotics

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,464

    Default Re: Cannot connect via VPN

    It helps us Diagnose your Problem if we had more information about your computer..

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country,
    without All the Details,without the ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..

    *** NOTICE:
    Whenever posting here- or Contacting ZA Tech Support, it is always advisable to list your:Windows OS (XP SP 2-3 / Vista SP1-2 / Windows 7 32-Bit/64-Bit),

    List your ZoneAlarm product Type (Free,Pro,AV, Suite,Extreme) and ZA version number (7.0,8.0,9.0,9.1,9.2),

    List Brand of Computer and CPU, is it a DeskTop or Laptop,

    List any other Security Programs installed.

  5. #5
    ninhalo5 Guest

    Default Re: Cannot connect via VPN

    I'm running Win Vista home premium sp2 64 bit
    Intel i7 CPU 2.67 GHz processor with 6 GB RAM
    Brand of computer is iBuyPower

  6. #6
    salty10 Guest

    Default Re: Cannot connect via VPN

    Am very new to this.... Also am a beginner for the IT too

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,464

    Default Re: Cannot connect via VPN

    Quote Originally Posted by salty10 View Post
    Am very new to this.... Also am a beginner for the IT too

    As a New user here, Please read the Forum Terms of Use Policy..

    http://forum.zonealarm.com/showthread.php?t=39465

    and This Forum link..
    http://forum.zonealarm.com/showthread.php?t=39447

    Thank you for your cooperation in this matter..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Solved] Juniper Network Connect SSL VPN and Zone Alarm
    By mdlewis in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: December 19th, 2008, 01:16 AM
  2. [Solved] Unable to connect to VPN or MS small business server
    By ileddie in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 24th, 2008, 02:38 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 12th, 2008, 04:07 AM
  4. No connect to vpn using alias.
    By quantum in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 28th, 2006, 06:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •