Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New Network Found

  1. #1
    annb Guest

    Question New Network Found

    I upgraded ZA to V9.2.057.000 to speed up load time for IE8. Upon rebooting after the install ZA indicated:
    "New Network Found. IP addr: 172.16.0.0. A new connection between [my] computer and the internet or another computer. " There was no option given to block this IP so I assigned it to the internet zone.

    I never set up a home network. I am concerned that this may be a hacker. Hope that's not the case, but why is ZA 'discovering' this now when ZA has been running without interuption for years?

    Any explanation & help resolving this is appreciated! Should I be concerned?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: New Network Found

    Hi!
    172.16.0.0 its an internal IP of your LAN or other devices attached. Cannot be coming from internet. Setting it to internet may cause connection problems. Are you connecting via a cable modem or similar?

    Try a clean install of ZA (fully remove it and reinstall) to clean up broken or old entries in ZA.

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; July 2nd, 2010 at 05:15 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    annb Guest

    Thumbs down Re: New Network Found

    I connect through DSL.
    ~~ snip ~~
    Last edited by fax; July 2nd, 2010 at 06:04 AM. Reason: offtopic

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: New Network Found

    Then probably the address is the one of your DSL. It may be normal that you are warned about new network especially if changing to new versions.

    List all the items you have in the ZA firewall zones and I will try to help, if I can. Otherwise you should check with a person near your that is more familiar with networks.

    Please keep on topic.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; July 2nd, 2010 at 06:37 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    annb Guest

    Default Re: New Network Found

    Well. I uninstalled and reinstalled ZA. The same message came up as mentioned above. The only options given are internet zone, trusted zone, or cancel. So I chose trusted zone this time based on your above comment.

    I'll check with my isp about that ip; they should know, I hope.

    Thanks for your help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: New Network Found

    As you prefer...
    Just check in your firewall zones for the different entries there.

    Closing this threas since the issue is resolved. If you need to re-open it please PM.

    Thank you.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Found a new network?
    By lurkerlee in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 1st, 2008, 02:15 PM
  2. New Network Found
    By estam in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 30th, 2007, 05:23 AM
  3. New network found
    By corinthian in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 5th, 2006, 12:10 PM
  4. New network found ???
    By frank_thomas in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 20th, 2006, 07:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •