Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: New Network Found

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: New Network Found

    Hello,

    Since this thread has multiple problems which are not considered related to each other this suggestion si ONLY for people with this one explicit issue.

    If you issue is not EXACTLY how its described below, DON'T try this and leave feedback that it didn't help you.

    Symptoms:

    Every time I reboot my PC I get the pop up from ZoneAlarm FREE firewall
    that it detected a new network (same IP address on every re-boot) and I must choose the zone for the network and I check the box to have the setting remembered, but on the next reboot same thing happens. Looks as if it never remembers my settings.

    Possible solution:

    The database files that store configuration information for ZoneAlarm may have been corrupted. Reseting those files might help, follow the direction below to see if this will fix your issue. When you reboot you will get prompted about a new network the first time and thats normal.

    1.) Hold down the 'Ctrl' and 'Shift' keys together
    2.) Right click on the ZA icon near your clock in the system tray lower right corner

    3.) Choose 'Reset' from the box that comes up
    4.) Choose Yes on the Reset Settings dialog box
    5.) When prompted, choose OK to restart your system
    6.) Follow the on screen configuration prompts after reboot



    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  2. #32
    almuzzi Guest

    Default Re: New Network Found

    I had exactly the problem described, and the solution provided did not help. What DID help was uninstalling 9.2.057 and reverting to 9.2.044. It definitely looks like a bug in 9.2.057.

  3. #33
    afbyorb Guest

    Default Re: New Network Found

    On my system I think what's happening is that if my DSL connection is established before ZA comes up then no problem. But if ZA comes up before DSL connection is established then I get the "new network fournd" pop up.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,461

    Default Re: New Network Found

    Quote Originally Posted by Psibolt View Post
    I had the EXACT same issue, it detected my IP address as a "new network" upon reboot. I'm using Zone Alarm Free and don't have the settings that are being recommended.

    I downgraded to .044 (Like Foxtrotter suggested) and don't get this anymore...

    This is the first time this has happened to me with any version...

    Mike in Dallas
    Hi Mike;

    Have you read and tried the MODERATORS Post (in this same Thread) and tried his suggested Solution?
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: New Network Found

    Hello,

    I didn't say to downgrade in my post.

    At ZoneAlarm we have no system with this issue so its un-reproducible.

    We need people to try MY suggestion and stay on the latest version. We will then need to collect data from you PC since we can reproduce this in house.

    Situations like these are one off issues and are problems with the PC its installed on and not a general bug in ZA.

    If it was a general bug then everyone would have the issues even us, which is not happening at all.

    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #36
    afbyorb Guest

    Default Re: New Network Found

    I tried the above "Possible Solution" - resetting the data base. No improvement. I still get the "new network found" pop-up.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,283

    Default Re: New Network Found

    It may be due to the way you connect to internet. Sometimes third party software can bypass the OS and create these problems. One solution is to let windows to fully control the system and connections rather than the third party software. If you have no other software then the OS to connect to internet than ignore this post

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #38
    Psibolt Guest

    Question Re: New Network Found

    Quote Originally Posted by Forum-Moderator View Post
    Hello,

    I didn't say to downgrade in my post.

    At ZoneAlarm we have no system with this issue so its un-reproducible.

    We need people to try MY suggestion and stay on the latest version. We will then need to collect data from you PC since we can reproduce this in house.

    Situations like these are one off issues and are problems with the PC its installed on and not a general bug in ZA.

    If it was a general bug then everyone would have the issues even us, which is not happening at all.

    Forum Moderator
    I *think* the reset and choosing Automatic configuration fixed this popup issue for me with it detecting my IP address as a "new netork"...

    1. If this file is "corrupted" and needs a reset, isn't it deleted when you unistall & reinstall?

    2. Is it corrupted during initial installation?

    3. What about this version 9.2.057 is different than previous versions which have not had this issue for me?

    Thanks!

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Found a new network?
    By lurkerlee in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 1st, 2008, 02:15 PM
  2. New Network Found
    By normal in forum Security Issues
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 24th, 2008, 07:17 AM
  3. New Network Found
    By estam in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 30th, 2007, 05:23 AM
  4. New Network Found
    By bobh127 in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 8th, 2007, 05:27 AM
  5. New network found ???
    By frank_thomas in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 20th, 2006, 07:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •