Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [Resolved] traffic-meter icon not showing

  1. #1
    denandcol Guest

    Default [Resolved] traffic-meter icon not showing

    whensurfing hte internet on google chrom or other browsers, the z in the system tray does not change to traffic-meter icon. Do I have a problem?
    Last edited by GeorgeV; July 17th, 2010 at 03:47 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: traffic-meter icon not showing

    Quote Originally Posted by denandcol View Post
    whensurfing hte internet on google chrom or other browsers, the z in the system tray does not change to traffic-meter icon. Do I have a problem?
    No Problem,

    your just not using one of the two aprovesd Browsers that the Traffic metter was designed for..

    Feature-specific requirements

    Browser security requirements Microsoft Internet Explorer 6, 7, 8
    Mozilla Firefox 2.0, 3.0, 3.5, 3.6
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    denandcol Guest

    Default Re: traffic-meter icon not showing

    No, it is not that. I am running Mozilla Firefoz now to answer your thread, with chrom closed and the icon is still not there. Just shows the Z as always.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: traffic-meter icon not showing

    Possible solution:

    The database files that store configuration information for ZoneAlarm may have been corrupted. Reseting those files might help, follow the direction below to see if this will fix your issue. When you reboot you will get prompted about a new network the first time and thats normal.

    1.) Hold down the 'Ctrl' and 'Shift' keys together
    2.) Right click on the ZA icon near your clock in the system tray lower right corner

    3.) Choose 'Reset' from the box that comes up
    4.) Choose Yes on the Reset Settings dialog box
    5.) When prompted, choose OK to restart your system

  5. #5
    denandcol Guest

    Default Re: traffic-meter icon not showing

    Thanks. That made no difference however. No icon, no alerts,.
    I think I will go to bed now and in the morning I will go to add/remove programmes and uninstall it and try again. Is that a good idea?

    All the best.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: traffic-meter icon not showing

    Your Welcome..

    Have a Good Nights rest..

    in the morning try this..

    Try to run the ZA removal tool http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...load/clean.exe

    to remove any left overs. You may need to do it in SAFE MODE. Run the tool as administrator (if on VISTA or windows7)

    The safest procedure is to :


    1.) Download the Latest installer preferably with IE Browser and (no Download Manager/accelerator like Get-Right, Livewire, Bit-Torrent, uTorrent) and save it to your Hard drive.

    (MultiPlatform, installer will install on Both WinXP SP3 and Vista and Windows7)

    ZoneAlarm free updates

    2.) Now Install the new update (clean) and Accept the default Setting, and Choose Trusted Zone, not Internet Zone.
    Last edited by GeorgeV; June 3rd, 2011 at 03:32 PM.
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    denandcol Guest

    Default Re: traffic-meter icon not showing

    It worked. Thanks so much for the support. All is fine now. Nice to know you were there!
    All the best.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: [Resolved] traffic-meter icon not showing

    You're Welcome!

    I am closing this thread since the issue is resolved.

    You may PM me in case you want to re-open this thread.

    Or start a new Thread..

    Thank you..
    Last edited by GeorgeV; July 17th, 2010 at 03:50 AM. Reason: typo

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Traffic Meter
    By JohnQP in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: October 21st, 2009, 06:40 PM
  2. Taskbar Icon Continually showing Update Arrow
    By bhani in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 24th, 2009, 06:55 AM
  3. New version showing strange icon in tray
    By mistress in forum Security Issues
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: January 3rd, 2008, 05:46 AM
  4. Stop tray icon showing network traffic
    By simonororke in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 21st, 2007, 08:53 PM
  5. icon shows traffic
    By pookybear in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 12th, 2006, 08:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •