Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: [SOLVED] ZA Extreme Install error - No SP1 but I am on win7

  1. #1
    Patto21 Guest

    Default [SOLVED] ZA Extreme Install error - No SP1 but I am on win7

    Hi All
    I have just purchased Zone alarm extreme 9.1.603 and can't install it. I had the trial of it installed no dramas but now cant complete the install of the latest update. It says in need SP1 for vista but I am using W7. I tried the compatability tab in ZA setup properties but can't uncheck the run as compatable to vista check box as it is greyed out.
    I have a dell XPS 720 with no other security software
    Cheers
    Last edited by fax; July 26th, 2010 at 01:31 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,284

    Default Re: Zone alarm Extreme setup drama

    You should be able to input the registration key in the trial version. No need to reinstall anything.
    Please note that as a licensed user you can contact, free of charge, the ZA technical support at the link in my signature.

    Let us know what they will suggest to resolve your issue.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Patto21 Guest

    Default Re: Zone alarm Extreme Install error - No SP1 but I am on win7

    Hi Fax
    thats excactly what i did. It worked fine and then ZA said there was an update available so I downloaded it and thats when I had the drama's.
    It is working fine but I can't install the update due to the SP1 issue.
    Any thoughts
    Cheers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,284

    Default Re: Zone alarm Extreme Install error - No SP1 but I am on win7

    Try to re-download the full 9.1.603 installer from here:
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...seHistory.html

    Also install these two windows 7 hofixes from MS:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/976759
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/979278

    However, you need to remove ZA prior to installing the above fixes.
    Also you must be logged as administrator to install/remove update ZA.

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Patto21 Guest

    Default Re: Zone alarm Extreme Install error - No SP1 but I am on win7

    Thanks Fax
    1 uninstalled ZA
    2 installed hotfixes, 2 where applicable out of the 10 or so available
    3 tried to reinstall ZA no luck, same problem, says I need SP!....
    any more ideas
    Cheers James

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,284

    Default Re: Zone alarm Extreme Install error - No SP1 but I am on win7

    Next stop should be the official technical support.
    Or, you could try to install a more recent version of ZAX... you never know

    Here: http://server.iad.liveperson.net/hc/...10&action=view

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    Patto21 Guest

    Default Re: Zone alarm Extreme Install error - No SP1 but I am on win7

    Well Fax your a guru
    Latest update on the website you supplied worked fine....
    Thanks for your help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,284

    Default Re: Zone alarm Extreme Install error - No SP1 but I am on win7

    You're welcome!
    I am glad to hear the issue is resolved

    Thank you for taking the time to post back.

    I will close this thread since the issue is resolved. Do not hesitate to PM me in case you need to re-open it.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Can not install zone alarm extreme security
    By kmcleod in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 2nd, 2009, 08:17 PM
  2. My PC crashes when I install Zone Alarm Extreme
    By lexnyc in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 16th, 2009, 05:12 PM
  3. Zone Alarm Extreme will not install
    By gibster in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 28th, 2009, 07:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •