Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: another vsmon.exe thread

  1. #1
    ruskea Guest

    Default another vsmon.exe thread

    now its getting little out of hand..
    vsmon.exe eats 60% of CPU usage while downloading... and recently it has started to crash programs that are connected to net while downloading.. (mirc, etc.) and usually ends up that need to shut the computer from the button to get everything work again...

    and talked to my brother the other day if he had similar problems... well its worse to him.. not as good comp as i got so while he downloads in few mins the whole comp shuts down.. so i guess the vsmon.exe is little too much to his comp to handle..

    i hope u find some kinda solution to this before gotta change the firewall to something else

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: another vsmon.exe thread

    Hi!

    as ever vsmon is the filter to all activities in your system. Historically two are the main issue related to vsmon picks. Potentially corrupted settings in ZA and conflicts with third party software.

    Granted you don't have other issues on the system (corrupted OS or not updated), malware related problems, you are on the latest ZA version and that you have added vsmon and zlclient to the exclusion list of your antivirus/antimalware software you can do the following:

    For issue related to ZA databases corruption you can reset them by:

    1.) Hold down the Ctrl and Shift keys together
    2.) Right click on the ZA icon near your clock
    3.) Choose 'Reset' from the box that comes up
    4.) Choose Yes on the Reset Settings dialog box
    5.) When prompted, choose OK to restart your system
    6.) Follow the on screen configuration prompts after reboot

    For issue related to conflicts with third party software:

    1.) Click Start -> Run
    2.) Type MSConfig in the run box (or search box in VISTA or windows 7) and click OK (ENTER in VISTA or in windows 7)
    3.) Once in MSConfig, click the Startup Tab
    4.) Remove the checks from everything except ZLClient
    5.) Click the Services Tab
    6.) Place a check in "Hide All Microsoft Services"
    7.) Now remove checks from everything other than TrueVector Internet
    Monitor and ForceField (if present), and click OK.
    8.) Restart your computer

    How does it work?

    NOTE: You can place your computer back into a normal startup process by
    going back into msconfig and choosing the Normal Startup option on the
    General tab.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    ruskea Guest

    Default Re: another vsmon.exe thread

    Okey i tried the both things u told me to.. and after those tried downloading and still vsmon.exe ate 60% of CPU usage

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: another vsmon.exe thread

    Then it could one of the issues already described at the beginning. This conflicts are not easy to troubleshoot they need a lot of work and good expertise to foresinc the origin.

    It can also be the software you are running charging vsmon with bad calls. Sometimes reinstalling the main software or use alternative ones (Tipically P2P) can solve the problem.

    The main message here is that vsmon can mirror a problem that is actually somewhere else. This is because vsmon is in-between (filter) all activities of your system.

    Finally, May be its the system that does not like ZA or vice versa

    Cheers,
    Fax
    P.S. To help the volunteers here its usually good norm give details of your system, OS, software running, ZA used and version numbers.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    ruskea Guest

    Default Re: another vsmon.exe thread

    in one point i started to think if it was the program i used for downloading so i tried direct downloads etc. etc. and they all had same problem.. also when watching videos on internet the time it loads it the vsmon.exe is eating CPU too and the video is unwatchable until its done...

    also when i shut down the ZA and try downloading everything works fine

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: another vsmon.exe thread

    Hello,

    You may very well have a deeper issues with your OS, drivers or applications that are conflicting with ZA or something else on your PC creating this issue.

    Since you never told us the product or version you could be using an old version which may have issues and is not supported.

    Current versions of ZA don't have this type of issue if you have a PC that meets our system requirements.

    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    ruskea Guest

    Default Re: another vsmon.exe thread

    ive used the auto update when the ZA is informing new updates.. current version is..

    ZoneAlarm version 9.2.057.000
    TrueVector security engine version 9.2.057.000
    Driver version 9.2.035.000

    and i use windows xp if that helps a little

    ill check from site if theres newer versions -->

    edit:
    also checked the other thread with same problem.. installed sp3 and following updates then reinstalled ZA.. same problem continues
    Last edited by ruskea; July 29th, 2010 at 03:18 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,466

    Default Re: another vsmon.exe thread

    Quote Originally Posted by ruskea View Post
    ive used the auto update when the ZA is informing new updates.. current version is..

    ZoneAlarm version 9.2.057.000
    TrueVector security engine version 9.2.057.000
    Driver version 9.2.035.000

    and i use windows xp if that helps a little

    ill check from site if theres newer versions -->
    Thank you for your Feedback

    You have the Latest version of ZA Free Basic Firewall
    But it is still not Clear to us whether your Computer meets the Bare Minimum Requirements to run ZA Free 9.2.057.000

    Microsoft WindowsXP, SP3 Home / Professional

    32-bit, 1GB RAM
    1 GHz or faster processor
    250MB of available hard-disk space

    From reading all of your messages, I agree with the Forum Moderator and Guru Fax..

    Sorry, You may very well have a deeper issues with your Windows OS, drivers or applications that are conflicting with ZA or something else on your PC creating this issue.

    It is Sometimes very Difficult to Diagnose and fix a Computer from halfway across the Country, without All the Details,without the ability to sit in front of your Computer monitor and see what's going on..

    I have no other Solution for you other than

    1.) Uninstall Zone Alarm and try some other Free Firewall, or

    2.) Re Format Hard Drive start from Scratch with a Fresh install of Windows XP, plus SP3 and all new patches
    and Windows Updates, then you should have no problem with Zone Alarm..

    There are Millions of User using ZA Free with no problem..

    Good Luck..
    Last edited by GeorgeV; July 31st, 2010 at 05:59 AM. Reason: typo
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    ruskea Guest

    Default Re: another vsmon.exe thread

    aah yeah i got

    Windows XP pro sp3
    4gb ram
    3ghz

    so comp aint too bad

    probly millions without a problem but 2 of these who got problem fit to the same family :F

    well gotta see if i can live over this or find another firewall to run with

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,291

    Default Re: another vsmon.exe thread

    Sorry to hear you have not find the issue. In this cases I can only suggest a format and clean reinstall of the OS. You may not indeed in the conditions to do so.

    Anyway, we pretty much exausted all possible suggestions on the issue. I will close this thread now.

    Please PM me if you need to re-open to post if you find the culprit or a workaround to fix the problem. Otherwise do not hesitate to open a new thread for any other ZA related issue.

    Thank you and good luck!

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 5th, 2009, 12:11 AM
  2. Vsmon.exe checked it with Procmon.exe - Any reason for the 24/7 read write of files listed below?
    By madusmacus in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: June 17th, 2008, 11:39 AM
  3. Replies: 39
    Last Post: December 12th, 2007, 09:55 AM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 17th, 2006, 04:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •