Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

  1. #1
    robinsmaid Guest

    Question ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

    Hi, I'm new here, as I've used free ZA and free Avast for years, with no problems.

    I've recently installed the latest edition of ZA and that worked fine with Avast 4. However, since installing Avast 5 I'm having all sorts of problems that are leaving my base computer useless, until I can sort it out.

    The screen keeps freezing and then when I close down the computer, I get an box saying Zone Alarm - End Programme and another box saying Zone Alarm - not responding.

    Sometimes the Avast and ZA icons disappear from the tray, while I'm still using the computer.

    I can use Outlook Express ok, initially, then have problems when I try to use Internet Explorer.

    OS: XP

    Please help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,285

    Default Re: ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

    You are the first reporting this. Form the side of ZA you need to ensure main ZA processes are excluded from avast (vsmon.exe, forcefield.exe and zlclient).
    Have you checked with Avast support? They may have probably some hints to give you. Hopefully not the usual answer 'dump ZA'... 'install xyx' ..etc

    Try also to disable functions in AVAST to see if there is any difference. For example the web shield and other options...

    I am not using AVAST, other users of AVAST and ZA will hopefully feedback here? Lets see...

    EDIT: I assume you have already tried to reset the ZA settings... (to exclude ZA issues) if not:

    1.) Hold down the Ctrl and Shift keys together
    2.) Right click on the ZA icon near your clock
    3.) Choose 'Reset' from the box that comes up
    4.) Choose Yes on the Reset Settings dialog box
    5.) When prompted, choose OK to restart your system
    6.) Follow the on screen configuration prompts after reboot

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; July 28th, 2010 at 12:53 PM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

    I like to point out if Avast 4 works fine and you upgraded to there latest 5 version and there were issues all of a sudden that would point me in the direction of contacting Avast.

    Sounds like Avast has the bug not ZA here.

    Contact them ask Avast to test there new product with ZA already on the system to figure out the issue. Maybe they got an upgrade issue from 4 to 5?

    Is is clearly in Avast court and not ZA at all.


    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    robinsmaid Guest

    Unhappy Re: ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

    I did contact avast tech department, and guess what, they tell me to remove zonealarm. So do the people in the forums.

    This is unhelpful, as i've used zonealarm, as my fw, all the time i've had a computer.

    I did a reset, as advised, no difference, still get the warning boxes on closure and other weird things.

    I wasn't sure about the other advise. I'm not very technical, so you'd have to explain things very simply. Don't i need the web shield in avast?

    If anyone knows avast, please advise on anything i need to turn off.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,285

    Default Re: ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

    Quote Originally Posted by robinsmaid View Post
    Don't i need the web shield in avast?
    Yes, you may need it but historically is the piece of AVAST that always clashed with ZA. Its not about needing or not an option, its about slowing disabling AVAST features to see which one is conflicting with ZA.

    Quote Originally Posted by robinsmaid View Post
    I did contact avast tech department, and guess what, they tell me to remove zonealarm.
    Very helpful indeed...

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    robinsmaid Guest

    Default Re: ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

    I disabled web shield and then tried to close down my computer. This time, I got boxes saying a7c: End programme and not responding.

    Computer wouldn't shut down.

    Any ideas??????

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,285

    Default Re: ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

    And after the restart? Does it work?
    You seem to have more issues than AVAST and ZA.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,636

    Default Re: ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

    Hello,

    I never said this in the past about Avast but if there support is not going to help or troubleshoot there own product and there only advise is to uninstall ZA.

    Dump Avast and find another AV provider.

    We work very well AVG


    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    robinsmaid Guest

    Question Re: ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

    I agree that it's probably an Avast issue, but frustrating, that I have to lose either programmes. I reinstalled Avast 4.8, and no problems again.

    Prior to Avast Tech saying dump ZA, they said:

    Try to disable all ZA functions except firewall. As far as I know ZA is no longer only firewall but it contains antimalware and some additional blocking features. These is causing incompatibility.

    are they right? I use the free ZA and couldn't find what they meant.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,285

    Default Re: ZA incompatible with Avast 5 ???

    May be its the toolbar. Install ZA without the toolbar. Remove ZA... custom install.
    I would rather check by disabling slowly AVAST features in order to find the culprit.

    I am afraid but we are exhausting the options here... up to you to continue with this.

    Cheers,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; July 30th, 2010 at 03:41 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZoneAlarm still doesn't recognize avast!
    By bob3160 in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: February 24th, 2007, 08:36 AM
  2. avast! blocked?
    By gaslad in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 6th, 2007, 05:14 PM
  3. Avast
    By email in forum Security Issues
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 31st, 2006, 05:33 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •