Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ZA 'Malfunction'

  1. #1
    blackvan Guest

    Question ZA 'Malfunction'

    I've been using ZA free version for some time but something weird has occured with it recently - for some reason it appears to shut down while initialising.

    I upgraded to zaSetup_92_057_000_en.exe but the problem persists.

    After starting ZA it appears to start normally (the Z icon appears in the system tray), but shortly after, and before it appears to have fully loaded, the tray icon disappears and the entry for zlclient.exe disappears from Task Manager.

    However, Windows Security Centre says that ZA is the curently running firewall.

    I'm using WXP SP3.
    Last edited by blackvan; July 31st, 2010 at 09:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: ZA 'Malfunction'

    If it is a ZA related issue you can fix it by resetting the ZA databses. This way:

    1.) Hold down the Ctrl and Shift keys together
    2.) Right click on the ZA icon near your clock
    3.) Choose 'Reset' from the box that comes up
    4.) Choose Yes on the Reset Settings dialog box
    5.) When prompted, choose OK to restart your system
    6.) Follow the on screen configuration prompts after reboot

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    blackvan Guest

    Default Re: ZA 'Malfunction'

    The ZA icon isn't in the sys tray long enough for me to try that method. If I right click on it (holding control+shift) the only thing that happens is that the icon disappears. I suspect now that this is not ZA related. Other things are now occuring that don't make sense (eg, I can download mail through Outlook Express and load web pages, but my OpenDNS program says that there's no internet connectivity ...). Any ideas? Any help would be appreciated. BTW System Restore won't restore any of the several restore points going back a couple of weeks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: ZA 'Malfunction'

    If you can't do it from the tray icon try a manual reset:

    Boot your computer into the Safe Mode

    - Navigate to the c:\windows\internet logs folder
    - Delete the backup.rdb, iamdb.rdb, *.ldb and the tvDebug files in the folder
    - Clean the Recycle Bin
    - Reboot into the normal mode
    - ZA will be just like new with no previous settings or data

    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    blackvan Guest

    Default Re: ZA 'Malfunction'

    Thanks for that, but unfortunately it had no effect.

    After deleting the files you suggested and re-booting to Normal mode, ZA tried to initialise but got zapped during the process. As before, the ZA icon in the sys tray disappeared when I moused over it and zlclient.exe disappeared from Task Manager. However, vsmon.exe is still present in Task Manager (this is also as before).

    Windows reports that it does not detect problems with my connection, but OpenDNS reports that there is no internet connectivity.

    Any ideas as to how I can troubleshoot this?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,290

    Default Re: ZA 'Malfunction'

    You could try to boot your system selectively, to check for third party software conflicts.

    1.) Click Start -> Run
    2.) Type MSConfig in the run box and click OK
    3.) Once in MSConfig, click the Startup Tab
    4.) Remove the checks from everything except ZLClient
    5.) Click the Services Tab
    6.) Place a check in "Hide All Microsoft Services"
    7.) Now remove checks from everything other than TrueVector Internet
    Monitor and ForceField (if present), and click OK.
    8.) Restart your computer

    How does it work?

    NOTE: You can place your computer back into a normal startup process by
    going back into msconfig and choosing the Normal Startup option on the
    General tab.

    Are you free from malware? Asking since this behaviour can also be related to infections. Running a security tool that include a firewall? This also can cause problems.

    Cheers,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Zonealarm cause Razer USB mouse to malfunction
    By Splortched in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 21st, 2010, 03:26 PM
  2. ZoneAlarm 6.5/TrueVector 6.5 Cause Torpark and Tor to malfunction
    By blackblackhole in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 15th, 2006, 10:19 PM
  3. MAJOR ZA MALFUNCTION!!!
    By hookemfins in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 16th, 2006, 02:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •